Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 11 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 109

Thread: 10 opinions, or more, please!

  1. #1
    Senior Member sarahrachel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Lehigh Valley, PA
    Posts
    651
    I'm not sure what to do with this baby quilt. The back will be the same as the purple fleece border, so no batting.

    What I need opinions on is whether to tie it or quilt it, bind it or birth it. I don't have any of the material in the quilt left, so the binding would be different.

    I'm not touching it until I get 10, so I'll work on something else until then. Thank you!
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  2. #2
    Super Member LoisN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hannibal, Missouri
    Posts
    1,267
    It's lovely. I think I'd tie it.

  3. #3
    Power Poster erstan947's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    12,040
    Blog Entries
    47
    Birth it and tie it:)

  4. #4
    Senior Member merrylouw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Rockport, TX for the summer 2012
    Posts
    627
    Well, since you don't have any extra fabric for binding, I'd vote for birthing it. Then, I'd SID around blocks, with feathers or swirls on the border.

    Nice quilt!

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    N. Florida
    Posts
    4,667
    Blog Entries
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by erstan947
    Birth it and tie it:)
    That's what I vote for.

  6. #6
    Senior Member jean1941's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    964
    Blog Entries
    2
    Birth it and tie would be pretty and easy

  7. #7
    Senior Member dungeonquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    984
    Quote Originally Posted by merrylouw
    Well, since you don't have any extra fabric for binding, I'd vote for birthing it. Then, I'd SID around blocks, with feathers or swirls on the border.

    Nice quilt!
    Ditto

  8. #8
    Super Member Jennifer22206's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    4,777
    Blog Entries
    4
    Here's my opinion. Personally, I don't like the birthing, however, since you're not using batting, I would birth it and then tie it.

  9. #9
    Member Michelle48350's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Davisburg, Michigan
    Posts
    85
    As a Mother and Grandmother I would say do NOT tie it. If the quilt was only going to be used to cover a baby the ties would be ok but if you wrap the baby they would be laying on top of all of the bumps. It just does not sound cozy to me to lay on top of the ties.

    I also vote for birthing it due to the lack of extra fabric for the binding.

  10. #10
    Super Member Lori S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    8,722
    I would tack it instead of tie. I would bind it , but all by machine.

Page 1 of 11 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.