Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Opinions please

  1. #1
    Super Member debbieoh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Sheffield vlg Ohio
    Posts
    1,854
    Ok what does everyone think. This is as far as I've gotten on the first Veterans lapquilt. Going to be making them for the hospice I volunteer at. was thinking of a small white border than a larger Dk blue/navy outside border.

    The red stripe really is red LOL!!! my camera makes it look orangie.

    All and any advice is appreciated. Have enough of the star fabric to make 1 more like this but with maybe a soldier in the middle instead of the eagle.

    Also if anyone has seen any star fabric ,some what like it please let me know. This quilt was so fast to wipe up would love to make a bunch.
    Thanks all
    Debbie in Ohio

    close up of eagle
    Name:  Attachment-204193.jpe
Views: 25
Size:  51.5 KB
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Super Member marymm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,629
    Very nice. I wonder if you even need borders. I'll bet an even smaller wheelchair quilt would be appreciated by hospitalized veterans. That's a great eagle.

  3. #3
    Power Poster blueangel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    20,478
    I would make them lap size that would fit in a wheel chair. They are very nice.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,963
    Blog Entries
    2
    Without seeing the whole thing end to end I can't tell what the outer fabrics are. I would just put a navy blue border on it and then bind it in the same blue or the red.

  5. #5
    Power Poster cjomomma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Murray, Ky. Looking for a nice cushy pillow to rest my head on!
    Posts
    16,530
    Blog Entries
    2
    That is a great quilt. To be honest I think that a border would take away from the quilt. It is such a nice quilt.
    Walmart did have some stars fabric similar to yours. I don't know if you have a wm near you but if you do then it might be worth checking it out.

  6. #6
    Power Poster nativetexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    1,ooo miles from home
    Posts
    12,427
    Blog Entries
    2
    yes, just bind it. it's lovely!!

  7. #7
    Senior Member auntbarb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    akron ohio
    Posts
    456
    Quote Originally Posted by cjomomma
    That is a great quilt. To be honest I think that a border would take away from the quilt. It is such a nice quilt.
    Walmart did have some stars fabric similar to yours. I don't know if you have a wm near you but if you do then it might be worth checking it out.
    :D :D :D

  8. #8
    Power Poster alikat110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Waco, Texas
    Posts
    14,966
    Blog Entries
    9
    Just bind it. Love the eagle

  9. #9
    Super Member MinnieKat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    northern Minnesota
    Posts
    4,518
    Blog Entries
    3
    Great looking eagle!

  10. #10
    Senior Member kwilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    lovely Elmhurst, IL
    Posts
    931
    Only bind it, IMHO. I'm sure it will be loved and appreciated. Try Googling star print fabric and I'll bet you'll get lots!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.