"New to me" Singer 319W.

Old 01-23-2014, 06:07 AM

Default "New to me" Singer 319W.

Hello all. This is my first post on the board and it's going to be a bit long so I hope you have a coffee handy.

I'm not a quilter, nor a "seamstress". I'm an auto technician, and aviation technician and a Flight Engineer in the RCAF. I do "sew", but my jobs are limited to an industrial Juki and the work is usually aircraft seat restraint webbing or building/modifying aircraft covers.

I do home projects from time to time and sew things like covers for my equipment and light upholstery work, but dislike modern plastic machines for these tasks. I'm always returning them in stark disappointment or borrowing a friend’s because I don't want to buy another plastic wonder that can't sew more than lightweight materials without jamming, dropping stitches or breaking needles.

My missus isn't a stitcher either, but the ladies in her family have a long history of quilting. She has decided it is something she wants to learn, so we needed a decent quality home machine.

Problem is: I can't really pop the 800 and up prices for a machine that I would actually want to own. Even then, there would be far more plastic bits than I would really want to deal with. Walmart specials and the like are out of the question. So I decided to buy something used, old and solidly built.

I'm also more a "mechanic" than a sewer, the missus is the opposite. So I would find, buy and fix the machine (which I enjoy doing), she would primarily just use it.