Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Did I make a mistake? >

Did I make a mistake?

Did I make a mistake?

Old 06-01-2014, 09:52 PM

Default Did I make a mistake?

I'm new to sewing/quilting. I bought a brother SQ 9050 sewing/quilting machine. One of the main reason I bought this machine is to learn to FMQ. So I came up with the idea to make dog and cat beds and crate pads while learning. I have been reading up on batting and it seems as though poly holds up well under frequent washing. These pads would probably have to be washed weekly or biweekly. A quilting person I have recently met told me I made a horrible decision. Should never use poly. I got a huge roll for dirt cheap. In my mind it made sense. Practice FMQ and the critters get comfy places to lay down and sleep. If this is a bad idea, what can I use the poly for? I know it's suppose to be good during the cold since it doesn't breath like natural fibers which is fine with me when it's cold. So can I use it for table runners? wall hanging? Anything? I'm just trying to find something to do with it. I will feel like a total idiot if there's no use for it.

Thanks for reading!!
Old 06-01-2014, 10:03 PM

No! I am not an expert on battings, but I really don't know why your quilter friend said you should never use poly. I have used poly in a quilt, and I have used warm and natural cotton batting. In my experience, the poly batting is loftier and lighter in weight. Maybe other members will weigh in on your question. I think the poly batting will work just fine and good for you for finding a bargain.

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 06-02-2014 at 01:55 AM.
Old 06-01-2014, 10:08 PM

Nope! Lots of people use poly. Use it to practice just like you planned and then try some of the other battings--see which one you like most. At least that's what I would do. Have fun!

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 06-02-2014 at 01:55 AM.
Old 06-01-2014, 10:47 PM