Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
Halloween costume - Interfacing for cape? >

Halloween costume - Interfacing for cape?

Halloween costume - Interfacing for cape?

Old 10-22-2014, 07:44 AM

Default Halloween costume - Interfacing for cape?

My list of garment sewing experience consists of one simple toddler dress and one pair of pajama pants... so, I am pretty new at it. And I've only been sewing 1.5 years... so, if anyone could give me a guiding hand I would appreciate it.

I decided to make my 1 year old daughter a Little Red Riding Hood cape for Halloween. I picked up some rayon/poly red fabric for the exterior that has a nice weight to it. For the lining I got some white cotton fabric with little red polkadots.

I was thinking it would be good to have interfacing between the two layers to help keep the darker red from showing through the white fabric, and to add a little bit of thickness/drape to make it more cloak/cape-like.

Any tips on that? Picking an interfacing is intimidating! For local availability, I have Hancock & Joanns. All of our sewing shops are focused on quilts, so they don't carry much in the way of apparel interfacing.
Old 10-23-2014, 02:18 AM