Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Tips when using Wool Blankets for Batting >

Tips when using Wool Blankets for Batting

Tips when using Wool Blankets for Batting

Old 02-16-2015, 09:26 AM

Default Tips when using Wool Blankets for Batting

I am making a quilt for my mom. She has a quilt of my great-grandmothers that she keeps on her bed year round (Although it is folded during the summer). I have tried repairing the quilt in the past - but with the constant usage, I'm not accomplishing much. So I think if I can make her another one of similar weight - she can substitute the new quilt on her bed and display (carefully) the older quilt.

This is brings me to my current dilemma since I have never used wool blankets before.

They live near near an army base, so I know I can get Army wool blankets. Is this the best ones to use?

I read that many of you recommend washing them first.

I also read one recommendation to take it to be LAQ. Would this be something most quilt shops could handle or will I need to find a special quilt shop?

I do not plan on quilting this myself.

Do you have any other tips on using a wool blanket for a quilt?

Kind regards,
Tracy
Old 02-16-2015, 10:00 AM
Power Poster

I would contact long arm quilters before you purchase the blanket to see if any of them will tackle it.
I made one quilt using a 100% wool blanket, but not an army blanket. The blanket I used was much softer than the WWII surplus wool blankets that I grew up with, but the newer ones may be different. Make sure that it is laundered so it doesn't shrink, or run. The quilt itself came out much stiffer than if I had used batting, but it was OK.
I guess I'm curious as to why you want to use a blanket vs. a batt, or does the one your mom currently uses have a blanket instead of a batt.
Old 02-16-2015, 10:00 AM