Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
First time using wool batting. Tips? >

First time using wool batting. Tips?

First time using wool batting. Tips?

Old 08-22-2014, 03:49 AM

Default First time using wool batting. Tips?

I'm making a crib sized quilt for a baby who lives far up north in the cold. It will probably be used more for wrapping for walks and car rides than the crib, but the mother requested wool batting. I've never worked with it before.

Are there any tips or things I need to be concerned about? Does my stitch need to be longer? The batting looks much puffier than the 80/20 I usually use. I'm not a fan of stippling, so I'm thinking of a cross hatch or wavy lines. Any suggestions would be very welcome. As always, thank you!
Old 08-22-2014, 04:01 AM

I wouldn't use wool for a baby, you can't put it in the dryer, this is the voice of experience
Old 08-22-2014, 04:42 AM

Wool batted quilts can be machine washed in cold water and machine dried on a cool or air setting (or just dried in open air if preferred), with no shrinkage (that's MY experience). They are not high maintenance quilts, just different than cotton or blends.

I'd have no hesitation at all in using wool for a baby quilt, especially if that's what the mother requested, and it'd be ideal for walks and car rides. Wool is a dream to work with by hand or machine, very easy to get hooked on using it.
Old 08-22-2014, 05:00 AM

I love love love using wool batting..It is so warm, drapes so well and is like quilting thru soft butter! However, my experience has shown that different manufacturers have very different washing, quilting and handling requirements.........Look for wool bat that can be machine washed and machine dried on a low setting with little shrinkage...If this is for a baby and they live where it is COLD, she certainly is not going to hang this on a clothes line to dry!Have fun with it.............
Old 08-22-2014, 05:54 AM