Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Writing a quilt pattern - Tips needed please >

Writing a quilt pattern - Tips needed please

Writing a quilt pattern - Tips needed please

Old 07-12-2016, 11:11 PM

Default Writing a quilt pattern - Tips needed please

Good Morning Everyone

I am a beginner quilter and I recently designed a quilt on my computer using excel. I am now at the stage where I need to write out the pattern and desperately need tips as I have not done this before. Would you start with the obvious elements, for example the stars, and build around those; would you tackle it row by row? I would also like to know if there are instructions for creating a block like the one attached, an HST with a block in one corner? I can't seem to find one on the internet.

Many thanks
Vicki
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
HST sample1.pdf (3.3 KB, 552 views)
Old 07-13-2016, 01:37 AM
Power Poster

I never knew your could draw a quilt on Excel but I have a very old version 2003 of Office. Do you have any quilt magazines to see how published authors deal with writing instructions? I make most of my quilt on my own so there is different ways I go about creating the blocks for a quilt. You might even want to invest in Electric Quilt program. Many quilter here are still using version 5 which can be very reasonable in price. Good luck.
Old 07-13-2016, 04:02 AM

Google shaded four patch for instructions to make that block
Old 07-13-2016, 05:50 AM

I think the best way is to start simple and build it. Once you get it written, test it among quilting friends and see if they can follow it. In my Bee, we take turns teaching a block or technique. It's amazing how something I think is so simple is complicated to others and vice versa.
Old 07-13-2016, 09:18 AM

Earlier this year, Cheryl at Meadow Mist Designs along with other bloggers had a series of blog posts about drafting quilt patterns. Maybe it would help: http://meadowmistdesigns.blogspot.co...og-series.html
Old 07-13-2016, 11:35 AM