Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
My new-to-me vintage machine, made in post-war Japan >

My new-to-me vintage machine, made in post-war Japan

My new-to-me vintage machine, made in post-war Japan

Old 01-19-2017, 02:41 PM

Default My new-to-me vintage machine, made in post-war Japan

Hi friends, a newbie here. I just purchased a vintage machine that appears to be a Singer class 15 clone, made in Japan perhaps in the '50's or '60's. It is a Crown, with no information about it available on the google. It is very similar to the sewing machine my mother had when I was a child, and on which I learned to sew. At this time, the machine is dirty and the electrical wiring is crumbling, so that a clean-up and re-wire is the first order of business. Let's see if I can post a photo:

[ATTACH=CONFIG]566134[/ATTACH]

If any of you have any pointers for me, I would very much appreciate any help you could offer. Thanks!

Sandy
Attached Thumbnails dsc01648_resize.jpg  
Old 01-19-2017, 03:55 PM

ooOooo pretty. love that green striping. They are good sturdy machines, it should make a perfect straight for as long as you are upright at the pedal

edited to add: welcome to the Board and Vintage machines. Read back through the threads in this forum, you have a doctorate when you get to the end. Welcome!
Old 01-19-2017, 06:45 PM

Very pretty! I have one that is really similar, but it's at a friend's house so I don't know if it's the same. The Singer 15 is a lovely sturdy machine, so I'll bet yours will be too!
Old 01-20-2017, 05:28 PM

The machine looks like it has been cared for. It's very pretty.
Old 01-20-2017, 06:25 PM

Beautiful little machine! I like the green stripes, too!
Old 01-21-2017, 09:29 AM

Originally Posted by Sandy R View Post
If any of you have any pointers for me, I would very much appreciate any help you could offer. Thanks!

Sandy
Welcome Sandy,