Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Can you please explain "Clones?" >

Can you please explain "Clones?"

Can you please explain "Clones?"

Old 04-30-2014, 06:56 PM

Default Can you please explain "Clones?"

I am new to this vintage sewing machine addiction, but have caught it good!

I keep coming across the term "clone" here and am trying to figure it out. I would have thought a clone was not a good thing, but it appears they are good, as there are many beautiful ones posted. A lot of these do not look like their "original" ones, like the 15s I have been looking at here. What makes a clone, and what makes it good or not?
Old 04-30-2014, 07:42 PM

SD,

The term "clone" as used here refers to the Japanese, and sometimes Chinese and Indian made copies of the Singer Model 15 machines. After WWII Singer's patents on the model 15 had expired and when our government relaxed tariff laws so our former enemies could rebuild there economies at our expense, the Japanese used the Singer 15 as a pattern and went on to embellish it. Many of them were made in colors whereas Singer only made the original style of 15s in black. Other minor changes such as the bed mounted knob to lower the feed dogs were incorporated.
Some machines are not exact duplicates of the Singer 15 but share enough characteristics to be considered clones.
What makes one clone better than the other is up to conjecture. I have a bunch of them and they are all good.
They Japanese made them by the millions for anybody and everybody.

If you look at my avatar pic, that is a JUKI made, HOTHER badged 15 clone. It is one of the best. It's been in my family for as long as I can remember and I'm 61. It was my mom's machine for many many years.