Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/vintage-sewing-machine-shop-come-sit-spell-t43881.html)

quilt addict 11-19-2014 04:07 PM

Originally Posted by ThayerRags (Post 6920486)
I have yet to see my first Lotus Singer Model 66 in the flesh (in any condition, for sale or not) after 8 years of searching. Good snag!

CD in Oklahoma

I got one, FINALLY last month for $10. Bit of a rust bucket and going to take some time to get the oil to penetrate but hope to have it working soon.

purplefiend 11-21-2014 12:55 AM

Originally Posted by KenmoreRulesAll (Post 6967086)
So, I have a question. I'm a serging newb and am reading about the machine I just purchased:

[ATTACH=CONFIG]498693[/ATTACH]

This is the Pfaff Coverlock 4862. I've read online that it does 5-thread coverstitching but the manual makes no mention of anything with 5 threads. It does do 4-thread coverstitching and 3-thread overlocking with a 2-thread overedge. So I'm wondering if they're getting the 5-thread program from the 3+2. Often these machines will thread the fifth thread through the side on the left.

Anyone familiar with these? A 4-thread is fine but a 5-thread is better (more secure). This machine does NOT do a 5-thread safety. It does 13 stitch programs in all.

Thanks in advance for any help! :)

Sorry I have no experience with your serger, only have Pfaff regular type sewing machines; both old and new.

I have a Huskylock 910 serger that's a 4 thread and it does just fine. I really like mine, bought it new in 2009 when I worked for Husqvarna Viking.
Sharon in Texas

redmadder 11-30-2014 02:14 AM

3 Attachment(s)