Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Who knows about light industrial servo motors? >

Who knows about light industrial servo motors?

Who knows about light industrial servo motors?

Old 04-21-2014, 11:33 PM

Default Who knows about light industrial servo motors?

I have two motors (both from 1951) that I found out today are the servo variety (they start only when you put your foot down) and one of them has this faulty condensor/starter:
[ATTACH=CONFIG]472638[/ATTACH]
It's definitely the offending part because both motors will run when the other one is fitted and neither work with this one. Now, I can't find much information at all on these beasties, except what they're classified as and that they're highly desirable, as they work like domestic motors, use less power, quieter, slower, more controllable etc. Now given my limited electrical knowledge (I have a physics degree but limited electrical experience) these look like capacitance markings but there are three wires coming out. My LSMG has none of these in stock and recommended buying a new motor for $250. Sure it's cheap but I'm thinking wasteful as the motors are otherwise in excellent condition, and this device looks very cheap and kind of easy to replace, if only I knew what it is and how it works. Part number is 198648 but Google let me down. It says "1 + 1 + .005 MFD" suggesting some kind of double capacitor with 0.005 being the tolerance. It looks too meaty to be simply replaced by two regular modern electrolytic caps, but I could be mistaken.
If I were to throw caution to the wind (and I've been known to) I'd buy two 2250VDC caps as close as possible to 1 MFD, connect them end to end, solder three wires on and plug her in. Anyone have advice other than "don't do it you idiot!"?
If you have a capacitance tester and one of these, working (or if you just know the answer) can you test it and let me know if it is indeed just two capacitors in series?