View Single Post
Old 07-24-2010, 12:07 PM
Pati- in Phx

Originally Posted by AbbyQuilts
The problem you run into with copyrighting quilt patterns is that it can fall into a useful item category and those can not be copyrighted.
That was already proven years ago when a dress pattern was copyrighted and then taken to court. You can not copyright a dress pattern.

Now as far as quilts well I guess that would be up to the judge at this present time.
As far as I know no one has successfully sued based on copyrighting pattens, nor selling items resulting from the items.
Check up court cases it is just not there that I can find.
Normally if there has been a court case involving a major pattern maker you should be able to find it in case law.

I wanted to add... I am not a lawyer I do research and look up things for fun.
Also I respect the copyright notice on a pattern. I would never copy a pattern and sell it. Once a pattern is bought and I made the item I would sell it if that was my intention but I do not sell items.
Actually, there has been at least one fairly famous case that was won by the designer.
The hotel that connects to the convention center in Houston, where they hold Fall Market and Festival aka the Big Houston Quilt show, had new carpet made for them. The interior designer saw quilt and decided to have the carpet made to look like that style. Without permission of the designer of the quilt. Said designer did indeed sue. She was awarded damages and so much more.......

And there are lots of bag, quilt and and such patterns that do have registered copyrights. And the copyrights, including the making and selling of items from such patterns have been enforced legally.