Old 06-16-2013, 08:18 PM
VIKINGQUEEN

After reading more of these responses, I had to add more to my prior post. Like many of you, I am also self taught, mostly via books, internet, & some classes. I have been very fortunate to have good teachers for the classes that I've taken. Of course with the internet there are no interruptions, but there is also no comradery, no feed back & no sharing... of any kind, good or bad. I have also been a bit of a teacher, not professionally, but we are all teachers of sorts becuz we took the time to learn an art & some of us like to share. Sort of "paying it forward". My students have been 2 of my sisters & they are completely opposite. While my older sister is a slower learner, my other sister picks things up quicker & is also very hands on. I find that no matter what approach I take, I always spend more time with my older sister, while my other sister goes on ahead of us & later grumbles about how my older sister monopolizes so much of my time. Bottom line is, we are all different & those who are constantly interrupting or monopolizing the instructors time are just as eager to learn as we are who have already mastered some of the easier steps & just need to refresh or want to learn something new. To the seasoned quilters I say, have a little patience becuz we were all there once, clueless & inexperienced. Hoping to have our questions answered first before class was over & not wanting to leave the class with an unfinished project like some others so that we don't look like the only who didn't get it. Or is that like the new kid that doesn't know his way around the new school & can't even find his locker? To the newbies I say, heads up! If this is something that you are just trying out to see if you like it, then maybe doing a little research to get a feel for what you will be learning might be appropriate so that you'll know what to expect. Knowledge is power & no one can take that away from you. As a seasoned quilter I myself don'