View Single Post
Old 05-05-2014, 09:00 AM
linda8450

Default My first quilt retreat!

I belong to a guild with about 60 members. Some great quilters, some beginners, some come to socialize, some work, some retired. I am 70, retired and have been sewing since I was 4 yrs old. I am new to quilting, mostly piece the tops and stitch in the ditch, so I don't really feel qualified to call myself a quilter. But I try.

We had the opportunity to book a great venue on a lake from Thurs from 1pm to Sun at 11am. The rate was better than I could imagine, $108 meals included for the entire long weekend! Though money is tight, I couldn't pass it up and I am so very glad I went.

I took way more things than I thought I would ever get to, pre-cut some borders, etc. and had all my supplies and tools well oiled and at the ready.

Everyone was so wonderful, what a variety of projects! Paper piecing (over my head and I am 6' tall!) Stack and whack, even a lovely bunch of Crown Royal bags that were magically transformed into a work of art (no alcohol allowed on the trip, but lots had been consumed to make this one). I sewed, ate good food, snacked endlessly, relaxed, we had a masseuse come in and give wonderful massages, and played with my favorite fabrics. I took 13 projects (no batting, just piecing) and FINISHED 11 of them!!!! I am soooo excited!

Someone didn't have a spare machine needle, "Oh, I have extras" was heard. Another had a machine die and was going to leave "Oh, I brought an extra machine, I'll go to the car and get it" was heard. Seam rippers were shared, binding was done by 3 people on one quilt to get finished for Quilts of Valor this weekend's presentation. One lady had a new machine and was having issues, several lessons were offered and accepted. People took time out to help, encourage and lift up those that needed it.