View Single Post
Old 08-09-2014, 03:32 AM
vdot

OK, here's a long dissertation on restoring sewing machines, as I see it. Who am I to have an opinion on the subject when I am just a newbie to sewing machines? Well, I'm not a newbie to restoring metal and metalwork, I'm adept artistically...and I have always loved fine machinery of all kinds. SO....

I looked at all the cleaning methods both here and on ISMACS...which got into restoration, and I think that their methods are OK (if not harsh) for "museum restoration"-type approaches, but since there is no huge market value in "rare" sewing machines (do any sell for hundred of thousands of dollars?), and since there is no way around the "re-doing" of a rough machine to get it back to anything resembling it's original glory, and since re-doing is not "original" regardless of your approach....with an old machine that is rough, I'd much prefer a total makeover...complete finish-replacement, using modern finishing materials which are far superior in every way to old japanning and varnish.