Old 03-14-2008, 11:24 PM
Flying_V_Goddess

Originally Posted by Pam Pollock
Ok...I had to do a double take. I guess what I thought was a thin white line was around the brown design. Maybe it's just the salmon color but my computer screen or my eyes just registered it as white.

Batiking is not that scary unless your not good around stoves? I did batiking back when I was in high school & I was self taught. I had some that were better than others & the good ones just come with practice. I still have some linoleum blocks that I finished carving but never printed -LOL. 49 blocks?? That would be a lot of carving & very time consuming to do as many as you need to do. I honestly think it would be worth a try to try batik but I will be interested in seeing your finished project no matter what method you decide to use. Neat design! :D :D
Well, there are 49 islands, but some islands are the same (like the fairy islands and the triangle isles), just in different locations in the block area. I'd have to check, but it may be possible that I can turn the block for one island 90 degrees and get the layout for another island. But there would still be at least 30 different island designs. I wish the screen printing supplies were cheaper. I think I'd like the results and I could possibly use screen printing in another project.

I think with the amount of work I need to do, the batik would probably be overly time consuming to do all those islands.

Originally Posted by Paulette