Old 04-21-2017, 11:05 AM
Iona D.

Originally Posted by sewbizgirl View Post
I've been reading through all of your step by steps on you "project". Whatever you did in the rag industry, quilting is different than garment construction. I strongly suggest you take some basic quilting classes to learn easier ways to quilt with better results. If you don't want to attend in person, you could learn a lot from the classes offered at Craftsy. There is so much great information online nowadays!

I can assure you, also, that living a 'good life' apart from living in Los Angeles is not only possible, but quite probable! I love living where I do... miles and miles and miles away from you.
I like the "rag trade." It wasn't the real reason why I was involved with it. I was a college student who graduated from one of the many fine well known universities around here with a degree in the social sciences (not fashion) by working at those same low paid raggy jobs which existed at that time (late 1970s-early 1980s). I graduated with no help from my parents, co worker associates, boyfriend at the time, or anyone else financially. Neither did I took out a student loan until I went to grad school later. I worked at both the food service trade & the fashion industry when the government jobs dried up after my first graduation. I seem to like to keep up with with cloth the best now. I no longer will make any money from it anymore than cooking & serving. It is now a simple diversion/hobby and that it will stay. It keeps my mind sharp and analytical with minimal stress. That means that if my "project" as you say does not turn out the way it should by my or other's ideal, what of it? Who really would care? My "rag trade" bosses? (probably dead by now). My visitors? (they don't care about quilts). Other quilters? (don't know any anymore-the last one move away about 15 years ago). It will be-and is-still very usable as a light summer bed covering and that is what I need right now. The rest is jus