air conditioners

Old 07-06-2019, 07:32 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oak Point TX
Posts: 759
Default

When these came out years ago, my parents put a big one in the window and it did pretty good. We use to call them "swamp coolers" because they do cause humidity. They are great in dry climates and will get pretty cool.
misspriss is offline  
Old 07-06-2019, 04:14 PM
  #12  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Southern USA
Posts: 13,201
Default

You may try a split. My DD uses those in her house and no window needed. Not sure exactly how they work but cools as good as central air.
Onebyone is offline  
Old 07-07-2019, 04:20 AM
  #13  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 5,397
Default

Depending on the size, you may not have to mount it with screws. My smaller rooms have smaller units and they just sit in the window, it holds it in the frame. My larger one I have a stand that leans against the house to help support it. It depends on what you have. Most of the time I don't have more than one going and the other rooms can be closed off so the smaller units work great.
romanojg is offline  
Old 07-07-2019, 08:17 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NM
Posts: 960
Default

We have a Fujitsu that is 12"x 31" on room side, the motor/power is outside the room on the sidewalk; there is a small 3" hole in the wall where the air conditioner is hung high up on the wall. It will cool or heat up our 20x60' room in less than 20-30 minutes. It has been working for 8 years with no problem.
Pat M. is offline  
Old 07-11-2019, 05:05 AM
  #15  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 169
Default air conditioners

Originally Posted by BettyM View Post
We have two of these units. My husband says that the ones that have 2 hoses are more efficient and works like a window unit. He will not buy a single hose unit.
Could you tell me what brand and model you have? I bought a Hisense 400 sq ft portable air conditioner, but I am not sure if it works like I want it to. I am thinking of returning it, it only has 1 hose
Thanks
Jerseyrayne
Jerseyrayne is offline  
Old 07-11-2019, 04:37 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rustburg, VA
Posts: 591
Default

Ours is a Haier unit. My husband thinks we got it either at Lowes or Walmart. My only complaint is that the control buttons eventually become hard to press.
BettyM is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
#1piecemaker
Pictures
69
10-16-2017 11:31 AM
AnitaSt
Main
9
02-26-2012 01:22 PM
Deb watkins
Main
0
03-24-2010 05:16 AM
sondray
Links and Resources
0
04-16-2009 06:37 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.