Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
Anita Goodesign Embroidery class >

Anita Goodesign Embroidery class

Anita Goodesign Embroidery class

Old 09-12-2018, 11:26 AM

Default Anita Goodesign Embroidery class

I have been sewing a quilting for many years, but thought I would like to branch out into machine embroidery. I have a new Bernina 770 QE I am just getting started on, and a friend sold me a 700 series embroidery module. A sewing and vacuum business is offering a 2 day class to learn about machine embroidery. I was told that it didn't matter what kind of machine you had. They do not carry Bernina. The class is $99, which seems reasonable eno0ugh, includes a USB stick with 200 designs, educational tutorials in a binder. If memory serves me, you don't take your machine, but I can find out for sure about that tomorrow.

Has anyone taken this class and know where it it worthwhile or not? I am an absolute beginner. My own classes on the machine have not started, and I don't want to be confused it this class does not transfer over to a Bernina.

Barb
Old 09-12-2018, 11:56 AM

I think that the concept is the same for all machines, just imagine how difficult it would be if every machine was comepltely different. If you’re concerned I would reach out to the person offering the class, but IMHO you would do well to at least brush up and experiment a bit, it really is fun and not as intimidating as it may seem.
Old 09-12-2018, 12:17 PM

The classes are fun! It's a great way to meet other stitchers and make new friends. Check with the local dealer as they usually supply (sponsor) the machines. It is usually an opportunity to purchase a new machine as there are event packages. Buy a machine and get the designs.

If they have the machines available, the designs will be loaded in the machine format.