Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Do You Have FIREFOX on you computer ??

  1. #1
    Power Poster dreamer2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    WHERE THE SUN ALWAYS SHINES
    Posts
    10,151
    Blog Entries
    7

    Do You Have FIREFOX on you computer ??

    with the new updates it is causing a scrolling page.
    I have 12.0 it's a "rolling" page control.
    I have a TBI and can't have scrolling.
    has anyone else had this issue or
    knows how to stop it even when new updates download ?
    I know the updates are important for security reasons.
    I am Quilter Hear Me Roar...

  2. #2
    Super Member thimblebug6000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    6,079
    I have firefox but sorry I don't understand the rest of the question, if I happen to scroll too fast I may get that might just click again & it stops.

  3. #3
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    42,536
    Blog Entries
    43
    you might want to update your Firefox. I just checked and I'm on version 16. I don't have the scrolling
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak THINK
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?


  4. #4
    Power Poster dreamer2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    WHERE THE SUN ALWAYS SHINES
    Posts
    10,151
    Blog Entries
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by QuiltnNan View Post
    you might want to update your Firefox. I just checked and I'm on version 16. I don't have the scrolling

    everytime i update it scrolls...not rolls.
    I am Quilter Hear Me Roar...

  5. #5
    Super Member Bluelady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Puyallup, WA
    Posts
    1,777
    I have firefox and I update regularly. But I have no scrolling issues. It may be a setting within your system

  6. #6
    Senior Member LoupEsprit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Litchfield Park, AZ
    Posts
    401
    I'm going to say ditto to everyone else. I have (and LOVE) Firefox. The only time I have an issue is when I scroll too fast. But then again, both my Kindle and my Android do it too.
    Megan
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/K9Creative
    Happiness is a new quilt and an old dog.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    7,516
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluelady View Post
    I have firefox and I update regularly. But I have no scrolling issues. It may be a setting within your system
    Same for me.
    Linda

  8. #8
    Power Poster dreamer2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    WHERE THE SUN ALWAYS SHINES
    Posts
    10,151
    Blog Entries
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by lfstamper View Post
    Same for me.
    yes, but what setting ?
    I am Quilter Hear Me Roar...

  9. #9
    MTS
    MTS is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4,301
    Quote Originally Posted by dreamer2009 View Post
    yes, but what setting ?
    I also don't have a problem (currently using v. FF17) but I can see how it could be an issue for you.

    The only settings related to scrolling (that I've ever noticed) are:

    Select TOOLS
    OPTIONS
    ADVANCED
    GENERAL tab

    There are two "scrolling" related options (auto and smooth) - I have both checked.
    Try playing around with them to see if the results work for you.

  10. #10
    Power Poster dreamer2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    WHERE THE SUN ALWAYS SHINES
    Posts
    10,151
    Blog Entries
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by MTS View Post
    I also don't have a problem (currently using v. FF17) but I can see how it could be an issue for you.

    The only settings related to scrolling (that I've ever noticed) are:

    Select TOOLS
    OPTIONS
    ADVANCED
    GENERAL tab

    There are two "scrolling" related options (auto and smooth) - I have both checked.
    Try playing around with them to see if the results work for you.


    ok will try next time it pops up for download.
    it's hiding somewhere.
    I am Quilter Hear Me Roar...

  11. #11
    Super Member Nanamoms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    MS
    Posts
    3,173
    Blog Entries
    1
    Love FF, no scrolling problems, but I do use a mouse instead of the touch pad on my laptop.

  12. #12
    MTS
    MTS is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4,301
    Quote Originally Posted by dreamer2009 View Post
    ok will try next time it pops up for download.
    it's hiding somewhere.
    Sorry, I guess I didn't explain it well.

    At the top of your browser, select TOOLS (or FIREFOX) depending on your version of WINDOWS.
    Select OPTIONS from the pull down menu

    The OPTIONS window will open.
    Select ADVANCED (over on the right at the top)
    Select the GENERAL tab (first one on the left)

    Midway down are the two scrolling options I mentioned before.
    Use AUTOSCROLLING
    Use SMOOTH SCROLLING

    I have both of these currently checked.

    (I don't know if that has anything to do with it but I'm using a touch pad only.)

  13. #13
    Super Member Chasing Hawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    7,557
    I have version 17.01 and no issues.

    Only issues I had was an irate wireless optical mouse. I seems it was having a spaz attack with something on or near my desk. I switched mine out with my husbands and haven't had a problem since.
    Everyone is born right handed, only the gifted overcome it.
    I have already committed my felonies, so people don't have to worry. (Russell Means)
    I swear to you, I am guilty of only being Indian. That's why I am here. (Leonard Peltier)

  14. #14
    Power Poster solstice3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Citrus County, Florida
    Posts
    10,389
    I have FF and love it. Never had any problems

  15. #15
    Senior Member cassie69emt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Western New York
    Posts
    383
    Quote Originally Posted by QuiltnNan View Post
    you might want to update your Firefox. I just checked and I'm on version 16. I don't have the scrolling
    I am on 17.0 and you must have something checked in your settings on your computer.

  16. #16
    Super Member milikaa1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Running Springs, Ca
    Posts
    1,567
    I have fire fox but do not have that problem, I do when I go to my documents though....go to your control panel and look for the mouse icon (windows xp), there is an option for scrolling, fast medium or slow....and sorry about your TBI, I got one in 2011 and multiple other body damage from my accident....
    Last edited by milikaa1; 12-07-2012 at 05:12 PM.

  17. #17
    Super Member Greenheron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Beautiful Briery Mountain in WV
    Posts
    2,619
    I have Firefox on Apple. I click on "Firefox" on the top left bar and then, "Preferences". I believe you go there to fix your problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.