Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 53

Thread: Do you have limits on your internet?

  1. #1
    Super Member ginnie6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,314
    we just got a notice today that there are limits on ours. They've "always" been there but never enforced because there was no way for the user to check their usage. Apparently in a couple of weeks we will be able to. In the meantime the letter informed me that we were over our usage....have no idea how much though. I called them and found out that this letter was just for "info" even though if did not state that. So now I'm wondering how much exactly we'll be able to use the internet. We homeschool and I get 95% of our curriculum online......free. The older girls take some of their college courses online and we have netflix. The youngers kids also play games online. So at this point we have no idea what we can do anymore. We can of course upgrade to a more expensive internet package. So anyone who has limits can you tell me how much time you can surf? Do you watch quilting shows/tv online? I just don't see anyway we can afford to upgrade at this time and at least one of older dd's courses is ONLY offered online!

  2. #2
    Senior Member Boopers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    612
    Blog Entries
    4
    Our downloads are not timed, they are measured. we get 200megs in any 24hrs. It renews every day. we do not watch movies or very many videos. We are with hughes.net

  3. #3
    imjustme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    754
    We have ours with comcast- no limits.It's one of those bundle deals.

  4. #4
    Power Poster cjomomma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Murray, Ky. Looking for a nice cushy pillow to rest my head on!
    Posts
    14,916
    Blog Entries
    2
    We do not have limits. We are always on ours. I've never heard of limits except for aa&t air time cards.

  5. #5
    Super Member ginnie6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,314
    ours is the local cable/phone company....internet is all we have. They pretty much have a monopoly here too.

  6. #6
    Super Member purplemem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Misssissippi
    Posts
    3,303
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have Hughes.net and we have limits. I had to upgrade because we surf the internet so much. I will be changing providers as soon as my contract is up.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,606
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have AT&T high speed for $24.95 a month with no limits. If there are other services available where you are it might be a good idea to check them out. Good luck.

  8. #8
    Super Member beachlady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6,753
    Never heard of limits either. Do you know when your contract is up? Good luck in finding your answers.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    277
    I have never heard of limits except on cell phones with data packages or as some one else said at&t air cards for you laptop or netbook. I would difinately check into another carrier.

  10. #10
    Super Member BKrenning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Festus, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    1,552
    Oh yes. Satellite internet service has limits just like cell phone data plans. Movies, Utube videos and file sharing songs (MP3's) will very quickly use up your monthly or daily allotment. We have the 17GB plan with Wildblue and even though we warned our neighbors about videos and file sharing--they bought the cheaper package and didn't lock out those sites so they spend half of each month throttled down to dial-up speed.

    Regular surfing doesn't really use that much bandwidth but movies, videos, pictures and music add up very fast.

    If you get a good Sprint Signal, you can get a Virgin Mobile Broadband gizmo that has a true unlimited data plan. Also, if you are in an area that Sprint has upgraded to "4G", you can get unlimited data packages from Sprint and I believe Clearwire. Another neighbor recently got the Clear gizmo called a Spot but on the 3G network it has a limit. If/when Sprint gets their version of 4G rolled out here, it's supposed to be "unlimited."

    Many internet service providers have a "Fair Use" Policy that they can institute at any time, against anyone so unlimited isn't really unlimited--it's more like "as long as you're not hogging all our lines".

  11. #11
    lilithcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Mountain Maryland
    Posts
    69
    We don't have any limits. We have a Verizon bundle that has our home phone, Direct TV and DSL for under $125.

    I would be in SO much trouble if I were limited!

  12. #12
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,275
    i have had AT&T and now Century link and have never been limited on how much iuse it

  13. #13
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,450
    Blog Entries
    20
    I have DSL unlimited.

  14. #14
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    I have cable internet, no limits. I pay $19.99 a month for internet, it's a benefit of having cable tv through the same cable company. My cousin uses Cricket phone service just for internet. She has AT&T for cell and home phone and direct tv for her cable. She said she pays $40 a month and Cricket provides the modem and it is unlimited. Her internet speed and download time is fine. She said there was cheaper plans using Cricket too.

  15. #15
    Super Member bjnicholson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Cleveland OH
    Posts
    3,236
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have DSL with AT&T. No limits. Although, as a retiree, I do get a discount. A SMALL discount, but a discount just the same!

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    156
    Sounds like you guys use a lot of bandwidth! You can locate a bandwidth meter program online (some are free) to monitor how much you use and compare it to what your service provider allows. Bandwidth is just like minutes on your phone and if you go over the allotment you have to pay more. With games, movies, vidoes and even large emails - it all adds up. I imagine in time, many of us will be faced with these additional charges.

  17. #17
    Super Member leiladylei54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,986
    I have cable for internet, tv and digital phone....no limits on any of them. Love it!!!

  18. #18
    Senior Member cinnya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Lawton, Oklahoma by way of Germany
    Posts
    849
    Never heard of limits....When we are home there are at least 2 computer going all the time.
    Can you get a different provider??

  19. #19
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Merced, CA
    Posts
    4,230
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by imjustme
    We have ours with comcast- no limits.It's one of those bundle deals.
    ------------------------------------
    I'm with Comcast too, and never thought of limits. Had it since summer of 2008, love it. The computer/phone is marvelous, it's all in one bundle. Don't like TV, so it is not included.

    What I don't love is what the nice young man who installed it on my computer and phone line did to my phones. Now I have absolutely NO telephones in any part of my house but this one. No phone in my bedroom!! I did finally get a set of Panasonic ones that I managed to attach between my phone line and the phone line that went into my computer, that way I can phone out. The panasonic has 2 outlet phones that can be plugged into electric outlets and will be electronically connected to the "mother phone" that is beside the computer.
    Otherwise, I like Comcast, but no way in h##$ will I ever allow some young man to "fix" anything in my house again. He had better have some experience and years to his mind and body before I open the door!!

  20. #20
    Super Member amandasgramma's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    La Pine Oregon, USA
    Posts
    5,911
    When we were in Arizona last winter we had Verizon internet. They sent us that same kind of letter. Then we found out later they charged us an extra $130.00!!!! I was furious. Apparently, they don't have "roaming" charges.....but if it says "roaming" you have a limit....then if you go over the limit, they charge you more!!! I thought roaming charges were only on the phone. And at that time, we had NOT received any notice that we were in a "roaming" area. Verizon will never get my business again.

  21. #21
    Super Member amandasgramma's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    La Pine Oregon, USA
    Posts
    5,911
    I was in an online class.
    I believe in supporting our president.......but more than ever, I believe our president should support us. I'm praying things start getting better. Our unemployment rate was down this last month........I hope it sinks!!!!

  22. #22
    Super Member nursie76's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    North Central PA
    Posts
    5,633
    Wow! We have Verizon telephone and high speed internet. So glad to have it after year of waiting to get it here out in the boonies! Unlimited...good grief if it was limited, I would be in deep doo-doo!

  23. #23
    Super Member damaquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Barnesville GA
    Posts
    3,258
    I have never heard of such a thing. My brother has Verizon so I am assuming it is unlimited like his phones.
    My DD had Comcast in GA. It would get really slow at times wonder if that is why. She shut everything off to save money. If we wanted just the computer it would have cost more than the TV And the computer. So they both got shut down.

  24. #24
    Power Poster sandpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,757
    Blog Entries
    9
    I have AT&T DSL unlimited. I would be in a deep pile if it wasn't. I've seen some plans that mostly list 200 MG..I have NO idea how much that would allow you to do. I would really check around if I were you.

  25. #25
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alturas, CA
    Posts
    8,482
    I've never heard of such a thing. If we have limits on our 'net usage, we haven't heard about it.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.