Frustrated Ped Basic

Old 11-23-2014, 07:09 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
quilter711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 487
Default Frustrated Ped Basic

I have a Brother SE350 sewing machine that uses an embroidery card, no USB port. I purchased PED Basic to embroider. I am using Windows 7 on my computer. The software was working! It now gives me an error message on my computer when using the software. "MFC application error is not working and will shut down". I did internet research. It seems that numerous people have this issue with Norton security. I have followed the steps from Norton and Brother to disable Norton, uninstall the PED. Basic and reinstall. I did this numerous times!! I have sent an email to Brother for assistance but they do not work on the weekends. Time is ticking and need to do ornaments for our guild. Do you have any suggestions or have you had this problem? Appreciate any suggestions!! Thanks.
quilter711 is offline  
Old 11-23-2014, 04:51 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
mermaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tennessee, UC area
Posts: 1,402
Default

I"ve had Basic for several yrs without any problems on XP. But may I suggest that you uninstall PE Basic--get all the little bits completely cleaned out, and then go to the Brother Support site and download the full software from there. This often solves a problem. The D/L will be updated and you just follow the instructions. To add...the software is available because one must have the card writer to access on the computer.
mermaid is offline  
Old 11-25-2014, 03:00 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
quilter711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 487
Default

Help for others with this issue. **This has finally worked but doesn't seem to be stable. Brother suggested setting up a new computer user. I am able to load files onto the card. I don't understand how a new user account allowed me to do this. I did get error messages "MFC application" along the install. It appears that it installed with XP even thou my operating system is Windows 7. I am going to stitch out the new design tonight!! Keeping fingers crossed.
quilter711 is offline  
Old 11-25-2014, 08:27 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
mermaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tennessee, UC area
Posts: 1,402
Default

Please let us know what happens. I just had delivery of new win7 Pro, and must soon begin exporting all my software programs. Scared silly there will be problems'
mermaid is offline  
Old 11-26-2014, 06:29 AM
  #5  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 4,299
Default

Windows 7 Professional has an XP emulator built in. That means you can run your older programs in a windows that acts like the XP operating system. I've used this in the past and it works pretty well - some programs still have problems but most work just fine.

Here's a link from Microsoft that explains how to do it and a tool you can run to make sure your PC can handle it: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...e-in-windows-7
Sewnoma is offline  
Old 11-26-2014, 07:48 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
quilter711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 487
Default

Originally Posted by Sewnoma View Post
Windows 7 Professional has an XP emulator built in. That means you can run your older programs in a windows that acts like the XP operating system. I've used this in the past and it works pretty well - some programs still have problems but most work just fine.

Here's a link from Microsoft that explains how to do it and a tool you can run to make sure your PC can handle it: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...e-in-windows-7
Sewnoma - do you know if Windows 7 home has this feature?
quilter711 is offline  
Old 11-26-2014, 11:44 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
mermaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tennessee, UC area
Posts: 1,402
Default

It does not, and I've been instructed to install XP for using in virtual mode...that is why I bought this set up. But it sits and has not yet been powered on....so I cannot swear XP is not 'there'. I believe I read somewhere that it is already installed on Win7ultimate. Will get my nerve up & ck it...but I love XP too much to give it up'
mermaid is offline  
Old 11-26-2014, 02:09 PM
  #8  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 4,299
Default

Looks like only Professional, Enterprise and Ultimate versions of Win 7 have the XP emulator.
Sewnoma is offline  
Old 11-30-2014, 11:12 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
quilter711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 487
Default

It WORKED! Short story. The embroidery files on the computer would not show after setting up a new computer user. I opened the files on the computer with internet explorer, did a file save as (keeping the .pes file) changed file name. This worked (it has been working for 2 days). I did do research on microsoft support website to help uninstall and reinstall. Please send PM if you need detailed info or additional help.
quilter711 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
quilter711
Main
7
10-20-2010 03:24 AM
Up North
Main
9
10-26-2009 08:54 AM
Angie
Main
3
08-18-2009 08:04 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.