Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Math classes

Power Poster

Math classes

Way back when, we learned "arithmetic" in grades 1-6 (no kindergarden then, either), and then we got to be "big kids" and could take "math" in grades 7-12.

I went back to our local community college when I was "mature" - I was a peer tutor - and when I was tutoring someone at a "lower level" - I learned that the method that I knew of how to solve a problem did not match the method that he was learning.

So I asked the instructors if I could sit in on those classes. WOW! I learned SOOO MUCH in them - it was either never taught way back when - or I was absent those days - which were many.

Math really is useful -

Hardly anyone will admit to being illiterate when it comes to reading - even though a lot of people are.

It seems odd that some people almost brag about being functionally illiterate in basic arithmetic/math.

Or - I don't need to know anything about it - I have a calculator to do the work.

It's still helpful to know WHICH buttons to press to get an answer that makes sense!

Power Poster
    I am math challenged. I can do the basics but algebra is a mystery and at this point in my life I don't see that changing. Am I proud of that fact? No but I have learned to stop beating myself up about it. We are all gifted in different ways.

Blog Entries
    I tended to hate math but found everyone learns in different ways. Once a teacher sat with me and explained a problem in a different way than before and a light bulb went off. Duh! of course, that's it. Since then I've explained things in what ever way necessary to get it across. Works well. We all are different.

Power Poster