Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: opinions-Need a new serger

  1. #1
    Power Poster lynnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    24,599
    Blog Entries
    1

    opinions-Need a new serger

    The repair man says the old serger is shot. I can't afford a great one, so i was wondering about the Walmart serger. Does anyone have one, and what do you think of it? Is it hard to thread? Any input will help.
    put off till tomorrow what you can do today, and if you procrastinate long enough, you may never have to do it.

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Chula Vista CA
    Posts
    6,730
    I don't have a serger and so cannot really say one way or another. But the one nice thing about Walmart is, if you buy it and don't like it you can return it. Just know that you need to take it home and try it out a few days and not wait for very long before doing it.

  3. #3
    Super Member slk350's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ft. Myers, FL
    Posts
    1,932
    My 1st serger was a Baby Lock Protege (I think I got it in 1997). Paid $400 and back then I thought it was a lot of money, But it did last me until about Feb. 2015 and it started smoking. 18 years of heavy use..I do alterations. I had to get another one, so I got a Baby Lock Evolution for much more than I wanted to spend, But I wanted the Cover Stitch and self threading. What brand does Walmart carry ? You could read reviews on the machine. I guess it depends on how much you use it. How about one that was traded in where they sell sewing machines or on CL ?

  4. #4
    Super Member moonrise's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Northwest Georgia
    Posts
    3,403
    I've got a Brother 1034D serger that I bought from Amazon in 2007. I've been very happy with it, and I see that it's still under $200 (link below; no affiliation). I think Walmart sold it too; not sure if they still do.

    http://www.amazon.com/Brother-1034D-.../dp/B0000CBK1L

    Edit: Yep, Walmart still sells it. Link: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Brother-Se...-1034D/1723621

  5. #5
    Senior Member quiltbuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    435
    I'm sure you could find a great gently used serger since many people have bought them to make clothing and don't wish to do that anymore. I know I have one, I'm lucky to use it once a year.

  6. #6
    Power Poster ManiacQuilter2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    18,937
    I hardly use my Baby lock. It depends on what model you had before and how much you use it. I might look around for a gently used one at a dealership. If you lived closer to me, I would give you mine Lynnie having chatted with you before.
    A Good Friend, like an old quilt, is both a Treasure and a Comfort

  7. #7
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    35,095
    For the price at Walmart, I would try it first.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

  8. #8
    Power Poster lynnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    24,599
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thank yoou everyone for your advice. Didn't know that about Walmart, good to know it.
    I think I may look around at the dealers or on CL. Thank you everyone!
    put off till tomorrow what you can do today, and if you procrastinate long enough, you may never have to do it.

  9. #9
    Super Member quilting cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Lake Stevens, WA
    Posts
    2,093
    I am happy with my Pfaff serger, but it took 3 or 4 years to get it. At the time I first decided I wanted it, DH said "too expensive". A few years later, the same model was half the price, so maybe he was right!
    Hope you are successful in locating a good gently-used-but-unloved one.
    Retired math teacher --
    I CAN FIGURE IT OUT!

  10. #10
    Power Poster lynnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    24,599
    Blog Entries
    1
    Maybe i need to start saving for it too and then it will go on half off.
    A friend asked for it for parts. I'm trying to get to Walmart this week to ck out theirs.
    put off till tomorrow what you can do today, and if you procrastinate long enough, you may never have to do it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.