Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Reusable grocery bag pattern

Blog Entries

Reusable grocery bag pattern

Hi everyone.I Don't post often so I hope I am doing this properly. But I am looking for a grocery bag pattern to make bags and give them to a food pantry for the people to use. I'm a beginner to intermediate sewer.
    I'm thinking about a half yard and I would like to have the handles incorporated in the body of the bag to make it sturdy. I don't think I need it lined as the fabric I'm using is sturdy and I can then donate more bags. Any ideas????
    Thank you.

someone just gave me a pile of heavy fabric so I am looking for a pattern too!!

I have a "fat sack" bag pattern that I got off free from the 'net. Try Goggling it, if you can't find one, PM me and I'll email the directions for it.

Gay
    Blog Entries
    Here's one pattern. You really need the handle strips to go all the way, not attached to the top, for security.

https://terryatkinson.typepad.com/at.../fat-sack.html

We've made this one several times and we love it. Perfect size and easy to make. We look for bargain decorator weight or denim fabric at Joann and use that to make the bags. A 27 x 54" piece of fabric will make one bag.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=wEnaFutDodg

There are manny examples and instructions on YouTube. Just google. Several designs to choose from.

Here's one that looks like the bag and handle is all one piece like the plastic bags at Walmart.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AgT8QJ9Of3o

Here is a bag that I make. I originally bought this pattern from another maker, but this is a free youtube video and it's the same bag.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-otEQfPu6rA
    Everyone can't be Irish, somebody has to drive.

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by rjwilder View Post