Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 47

Thread: Trip to Colorado - lots of quilts and fabric, and one poor experience

  1. #1
    Super Member annesthreads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    1,098

    Trip to Colorado - lots of quilts and fabric, and one poor experience

    I've just got back from a 2 week visit to a friend in Boulder, Colorado. She and the friend I travelled with aren't quilters, but they were very patient and I enjoyed visits to the Rocky Mountain quilt museum in Golden, which had a fascinating exhibition of quilts from Pennsylvania, and several quilt shops. Thankyou to the people on this board who recommended shops when the question was asked a couple of months back. I was VERY GOOD, and haven't bought a lot of fabric, but it was fun to look at the wonderful stocks that shops there had.

    I had one slightly "off" experience though. One of the (many) things I love about the States is the emphasis on service, and the friendliness and helpfulness of the people in shops and restaurants. However, one of the quilt shops I visited was the exception. There were 3 or 4 ladies working there, all enjoying talking among themselves. When I'd chosen some fabric and went to pay, the lady at the desk was busy paying for some things she'd just bought for herself, and completely ignored me while she did that. None of the others interrupted their conversation to come and serve me. Then the phone rang, and the lady I was waiting for picked it up and went off to find the colleague who the call was for, even though I'd been standing in fromt of her for about 5 minutes by then. THEN she finally spoke to me, to tell me that that she couldn't serve me until the call was finished! I think she was assuming I'd be using a credit card, though in fact I wanted to pay cash. I nearly walked out at that point, but my friends were looking at books and I couldn't catch their attention. When she finally served me, she didn't know what she was doing and one of her colleagues had to drag herself away from the chat to come and help. Service in the UK is often poor, but this was appalling. Sad, because someone had enthusiastically recommended the shop, and I would never set foot in it again, having been treated with such rudeness. It felt like a club run for the benefit of the employees rather than a business. I must say, though, that it was the only bad experience in the whole 2 weeks - and we visited a lot of shops! Such a shame that it had to be a quilt shop.

  2. #2
    Super Member Quiltngolfer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,356
    I'm so sorry you had a bad experience there. Hopefully the items you purchased were worth the wait. It is so sad the way some folks are just not polite anymore.

  3. #3
    Super Member ptquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    6,057
    I'm glad MOST of your trip was good! I think you Brits are just too nice! I would have said, loudly, "I'm ready to pay now - does someone want to take my money?"

  4. #4
    Power Poster nativetexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    home again, after 27 yrs!
    Posts
    16,321
    Blog Entries
    2
    I would have handed her my fabrics and told her due to her non-attention , I'd changed my mind about shopping there. then I would have gone to my friends. when people know they lost money, they start paying attention.

  5. #5
    Super Member DogHouseMom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Knot Merrill, Southern Indiana
    Posts
    5,744
    So glad that 90% of your trip was wonderful. Even the tastiest apple might have a worm. Unfortunately, you found a worm.

    As a business owner I would not, could not abide employee's ignoring a customer. As a business owner, if I had walked in when that was happening ... I would have happily made the announcement to all that the ladies that ignored you, that they would be donating a 25% discount to you from their pay checks.
    May your stitches always be straight, your seams always lie flat, and your grain never be biased against you.

    Sue

  6. #6
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Lake Elsinore, CA
    Posts
    12,714
    Oh dear! We were treated very well on our trip to the UK last year. I apologize for the rudeness you received here. Quilt shops are usually such friendly places, but what you experienced was inexcusable. I would have probably walked out.

  7. #7
    Super Member justflyingin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jozefow, Poland
    Posts
    4,501
    Quote Originally Posted by ptquilts View Post
    I'm glad MOST of your trip was good! I think you Brits are just too nice! I would have said, loudly, "I'm ready to pay now - does someone want to take my money?"
    I agree. You were too nice to them (OP)...but thanks for the overall good report about American quilt shops...

  8. #8
    Super Member May in Jersey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,549
    Quote Originally Posted by DogHouseMom View Post
    So glad that 90% of your trip was wonderful. Even the tastiest apple might have a worm. Unfortunately, you found a worm.

    As a business owner I would not, could not abide employee's ignoring a customer. As a business owner, if I had walked in when that was happening ... I would have happily made the announcement to all that the ladies that ignored you, that they would be donating a 25% discount to you from their pay checks.
    Love your solution to the problem!

    PS: If the employees had something about the shop's business to discuss they should have done it in the workroom or office, not in front of customers.
    Last edited by May in Jersey; 06-12-2012 at 01:19 PM.

  9. #9
    Super Member Marilynsue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Mid Michigan
    Posts
    1,014
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by DogHouseMom View Post
    So glad that 90% of your trip was wonderful. Even the tastiest apple might have a worm. Unfortunately, you found a worm.

    As a business owner I would not, could not abide employee's ignoring a customer. As a business owner, if I had walked in when that was happening ... I would have happily made the announcement to all that the ladies that ignored you, that they would be donating a 25% discount to you from their pay checks.
    I do like the way you run your business. We have a large quilt shop in my area that I only go to when I can't find what I want anywhere else. The owner doesn't allow her employes to "visit" with the customers. Consequently, you go in there and see all these sober faced ladies and know you can't carry on any kind of conversation with them. I find this very depressing. I could never work in a place like this, definitely not customer friendly! (Oh, they never stand around visiting with each other either).
    Every Sunrise brings a blessing

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Carlisle, PA
    Posts
    1,943
    One of my dearest, lifelong friends is a Brit. He's been in this country since 1975. I've met many of his visitors from the UK over the past 37 years and those experiences have enlightened me to the joy of having friends around the globe. I want to personally apologize for the rude behaviour of that person in Boulder. I am appalled by the treatment you received and if I were you, I'd write to that store and explain why you will never set foot in there again. Come to New York! We're much more friendly!!

  11. #11
    Super Member Jan in VA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Piedmont Virginia in the Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mtns.
    Posts
    8,282
    The employee behavior you received makes me simmer with frustration; it would not have been tolerated in my former shop.

    That being said, though, with your comment about the clerk needing help from another employee to complete your transaction and board recommendations for the shop, I wonder if it's possible the shop was under-staffed or temporarily staffed due to other employees/owner being at a show somewhere. Sometimes it's hard to manage things as an owner when you are spread over two or more locations for the week/weekend.

    I'm certainly not excusing them; just wondering (kind of hoping?) if there were extenuating circumstances this time.

    Jan in VA
    Jan in VA
    Living in the foothills
    peacefully colors my world.
    http://www.quiltingboard.com/members...bums19552.html

  12. #12
    Senior Member sandraa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Abilene, TX
    Posts
    906
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Marilynsue View Post
    I do like the way you run your business. We have a large quilt shop in my area that I only go to when I can't find what I want anywhere else. The owner doesn't allow her employes to "visit" with the customers. Consequently, you go in there and see all these sober faced ladies and know you can't carry on any kind of conversation with them. I find this very depressing. I could never work in a place like this, definitely not customer friendly! (Oh, they never stand around visiting with each other either).
    Sounds like a very unhappy place to work. I own a wholesale beauty supply and we greet every customer that walks in with a Hello and 98% of them we greet by name. I can't imagine not visiting with my customers, without them, we wouldn't have a business. Someone needs to tell the owner that Happy customers spend more $$$

  13. #13
    Super Member SouthPStitches's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    So Plymouth, NY
    Posts
    2,336
    There's few things that other me more than what you encountered. I hate the feeling that the employees in establishments are so busy chatting with each other, that they can't be bothered to greet you, assist you or acknowledge your presence. It's as though you are interrupting something. In either case, I just leave. I don't expect a fanfare, just people to be pleasant and do what they are supposedly being paid for. I'm sorry this happened to you.

  14. #14
    Super Member irishrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cadillac, MI
    Posts
    6,579
    Blog Entries
    19
    I sent an employee at JoAnn's home one day. She loved to get another employee in the corner and visit rather than work. Needless to say, the word was passed and it didn't happen on my shift after that. Chatting with fellow employees during the course of a day - yes, of course. Standing around and talking - not on my clock.

    I'm very sorry you had this experience. I would have waited on you for as long as it took just to hear your lovely accent.

  15. #15
    Super Member jcrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Small town in Northeast Oregon close to Washington and Idaho
    Posts
    2,734
    Blog Entries
    5
    I drove 3 hours to a new shop in Washington to buy fabric as I heard they had a fantastic store. When I went in, I was blown away. But there was no one in the shop! After a while a woman poked her head out of a classroom and looked at me and went back in. I thought she'd be right out. I was wrong. I kept shopping. I took bolts of fabric to the counter and kept looking and finally finished and waited at the counter for 10 minutes and no one came out of that room. I could hear voices talking and laughing and I knew that they knew I was there. So, I walked out, leaving all the bolts sitting on the counter, hoping they would realize that they lost a good sale. I've never been back. And it's sad, because they had a lot of nice fabric and a lot of it.
    "Be yourself...everyone else is taken."
    Strong people don't put others down...they build them up."
    "Remember that your instincts are more important than rules"

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    8
    Sorry to hear you had that one bad experience in Colorado. I used to live there and enjoyed visiting all the various stores. They each had a different personality. I am curious if it was a quilt store in Colorado Springs. There was one store there many of my quilt friends would not go into due to the lack of service.

  17. #17
    Senior Member echoemb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Arvada, CO
    Posts
    463
    As someone who lives and shops and at one time had a business here in Colorado I would love to know what shop it was that was so rude. This is one of my biggest pet peeves. Not being greeted when I enter a store or even acknowledged and then talking with somebody and ignoring a customer. Sorry for the rudeness of our citizens but it seems to be the norm nowadays. Hope you come back.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Dillsburg, PA
    Posts
    315
    The only place that I have experienced employees chatting away and ignoring the customers is one store in a large grocery chain here in the east. My husband and I were at the deli counter waiting and waiting and waiting while 2 employees stood a few feet away and looked at us several times as they were talking and laughing. I was boiling...my husband has a little more patience than I do. I told him...I have to walk away because I am going to explode at them right now. Of course when we left the store then he showed his anger....lol.

  19. #19
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    N. Florida
    Posts
    4,609
    Blog Entries
    45
    Annesthreads, thank you for coming to visit our country. So sorry you had a bad shopping experience. Just know that you weren't ignored because you were a visitor, they do that to the locals as well. I have walked out of several stores and a couple of restaurants after being ignored by staff. I just figure they do not want or need my money and I'll happily spend it elsewhere.

  20. #20
    Senior Member cmw0829's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ area
    Posts
    954
    So sorry that you experienced this. You can almost excuse it with teen workers - because either they don't know better or they haven't been properly trained. But in a specialty store, it's unacceptable. When my transaction has been interrupted by a phone or another customer who won't wait her turn, I will - depending on how bold I feel that day - remind the staffer that I was here first, please complete my transaction before servicing the caller or next customer.

  21. #21
    Super Member annesthreads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    1,098
    Such sweet responses. I can't stress enough that this was my only negative experience in a LOT of shopping. And any of you would have experienced far worse in the UK. My friend and I were bowled over by the quality and friendliness of the service we received in all but this one shop, in huge contrast to what we're used to.

  22. #22
    Super Member annesthreads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    1,098
    Quote Originally Posted by DogHouseMom View Post
    So glad that 90% of your trip was wonderful.
    99%. At least.

  23. #23
    Super Member annesthreads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    1,098
    Quote Originally Posted by Debbie C View Post
    One of my dearest, lifelong friends is a Brit. He's been in this country since 1975. I've met many of his visitors from the UK over the past 37 years and those experiences have enlightened me to the joy of having friends around the globe. I want to personally apologize for the rude behaviour of that person in Boulder. I am appalled by the treatment you received and if I were you, I'd write to that store and explain why you will never set foot in there again. Come to New York! We're much more friendly!!
    I was going to write, but they don't have an email address, and I'm not sure I want to waste the money a stamp would cost....

  24. #24
    Super Member annesthreads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    1,098
    Quote Originally Posted by Debbie C View Post
    Come to New York! We're much more friendly!!
    ...and I'd LOVE to come to New York! One of my dream destinations.

  25. #25
    Super Member annesthreads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    1,098
    Quote Originally Posted by annthreecats View Post
    Annesthreads, thank you for coming to visit our country. So sorry you had a bad shopping experience. Just know that you weren't ignored because you were a visitor, they do that to the locals as well. I have walked out of several stores and a couple of restaurants after being ignored by staff. I just figure they do not want or need my money and I'll happily spend it elsewhere.
    just one experience, totally outweighed by many, many good ones.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.