Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
Hello Quilting Community! >

Hello Quilting Community!

Hello Quilting Community!

Old 04-30-2021, 02:35 PM

Default Hello Quilting Community!

Hi all!!
My name is Isabel Henry and I am a college student in Colorado. I am studying Anthropology and for my final, we are asked to pick a culture, that we are not a part of ourselves, and dig into it. As someone who owns a few quilts that were gifted to me, but otherwise knowing nothing about the quilting culture and community, I thought that it would be an interesting topic to research. But "googling" can only give me so much! I am looking to hear straight from you all about what this community means to you.

What brought you to quilting? What are some norms in the community (how you treat fellow quilters, I've seen some mention of quilting police?) ?? What does a quilt symbolize to you? What does this quilting culture symbolize to you? Is there such thing as a "bad quilt" or a wrong way to quilt? These are just some of my questions I thought of, but any input would be amazing!!

If you have any time at all to respond or reach out to me privately, that would be incredible. I am so excited to hear more about quilting, and maybe even pick it up a little myself. Please also note if it is okay for me to use your response in my paper!!
Thank you so much for taking the time to read this, and hopefully help me gain some more insight into quilting!!
-Isabel
Old 05-01-2021, 04:52 AM