Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
Hello from Washington State >

Hello from Washington State

Hello from Washington State

Old 07-17-2010, 08:41 PM

Well, I have been "lurking" here for about a month and it is high time I introduced myself! I have been quilting for about 3 or 4 years, ever since I found out I was going to be a grandma! I knew that grandmas make cookies or they quilt. My cookies leave something to be desired, so that left quilting.
I haven't finished very many quilts, about ten smaller ones for niece's, nephew's, and friend's babies and for the sweetest cutest granddaughter in the world, Sophia. Until just recently I was working fulltime (that's a whole 'nother we won't get into ) so I didn't have a lot of time to do more.
However, I have many quilt TOPS done! Just waiting to be quilted. And a ton of UFOs too..
I confess to being a fabriholic. Over four years of collecting a focus fabric here and a focus there, and OH.. I best get coordinating fabric.. and isn't that one pretty! and so-n-so would love a quilt made from that and so on... and since I traveled throughout Oregon and Washington for my job, I HAD to stop in every quilt shop I could find and what's the use of stopping by if ya can't pick up a fat quarter or ten..
I have my whole basement family room turned into my fabric storage and cutting room. Soon I will add the machines to the downstairs (once I get a sewing cabinet or four..), which are currently housed on the dining room table. "KIDS.. go eat in your room.. I have to sew!"
Yes, I said machineS.. seems I have started a Featherweight collection this last month. I now have to stay away from Ebay. Ebay is trouble.
Several other friends and relatives accuse me of getting them hooked on quilting. HA! accuse me likes its a crime! I am guilty then, guilty I say! And proud of it! or.. am I quilty?
OK, bad pun. Sorry.