Need advice

Old 08-24-2021, 10:42 AM

Unhappy Need advice

I'm new to msg. brd. I joined because I need advice. I washed a quilt which had never been washed. The colors are not as vibrant as before, and now the cotton batting inside puckers. Is there any method, no matter how tedious, to take quilt back to former self? It's a block quilt. I washed it in Woolite. I dried it in dryer. Would washing it again with Woolite Dark restore color? Would ironing it when it's wet undo the puckering?
Old 08-24-2021, 11:37 AM

Welcome from Texas.
I'm not sure what you mean by the batting inside puckering but it might be that you did not quilt it close enough together. If you mean puckering as in the look of an entire washed quiIt then that is another story. All quilts look different after they are washed. They don't have that smooth, unwashed look as before. Personally, I love the look of a washed quilt. I have some old quilts that my DH's mother & grandmother made & the batting inside them has sort of "balled up" over time. I think it's because they did not have batting like we have today.
I can't answer your question about the vibrant look of it. Maybe you could post a picture for us...a "before" washed & an "after" washed would be helpful.
Old 08-24-2021, 01:00 PM

I'm so sorry you had to come here with a bad experience. Are you a quilter yourself? It is always possible to undo all the work and redo it, but I usually have learned to live with my mistakes.

A picture would help. It might not help, but trust me I know the devastation of opening up the washing machine to a quilt just ruined visually by running dye...

Typically dye loss and shrinkage results are very difficult to undo, while there are some thing we can do to mitigate bleeding dye damage, no real way to get the color back in once it has escaped.. There are products and techniques you can use to stabilize further loss, but no way back to prewashed condition -- even if you took everything apart.