Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
You ladies inspired me with your clean sewing rooms. >

You ladies inspired me with your clean sewing rooms.

You ladies inspired me with your clean sewing rooms.

Old 01-15-2010, 04:38 AM

Hi,
I'm Shanna, I live in rural IL. I'm new to quilting and learning slowly in my spare time.
I loved looking at your sewing rooms and was inspired & decide to clean my sewing stuff up. So I took one morning and cleaned the floor & corners of my bedroom. My husband thought I lost my mind, everything had been scattered since Oct. when I began a throw for my brother. Then I began to dream of the day when I can convert & fill up a bedroom for a sewing room. But now all my house is filled up with is kids! But I have a dream!

I have so many question but will ask one at a time. The first one is what patterns do you ladies recommend for a quilt out of my mom's clothes? I cry every time I start to cut one up. But I think it's part of the grief/healing process. May God Bless
Old 01-15-2010, 04:45 AM
Banned

Welcome from TN. Glad you joined. We are here for you and you will find that no matter what you ask someone will have an answer for you.
As for what quilt pattern to use... There are so many to use, or create your own. If there is something that was special to your Mom such as butterflies, horses, dogs, a special flower, whatever it may have been I would try to incorporate that into the quilt. My first quilt ( just last fall) was a wall hanging of 'Antique Spools' in memory of my Mom.
I agree the tears are part of the grieving process and makeing the quilt will help with the healing process. I still miss my Mom and it's been nearly 20 years. I remember a lot of her clothes and still have the quilt she and I made out of scraps from all the clothes she made us over the years. Fond memories.
We are here for you.
Old 01-15-2010, 06:22 AM