Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Hawaiian style applique

For my friends who love Hawaiian quilting:
    http://www.quiltshawaii.com
    http://www.nvo.com/poakalani
    http://www.quilthawaiian.com

Boo
    Thank you, Leslee. I have been having fun checking out these sites!

I wish they had Hawaiian music to go along with them! I've made maybe 10 wall hanging sized quilts and lost track of the number of pillows. I don't know what got me hooked on these giant appliques. Maybe it was the first time I stitched a batik royal purple to a square of mottled lime green fabric. I knew I'd tossed every rule of the color wheel out the window, but somehow that pillow looked cool!

I wrote the previous message, but my name wasn't signed. I'm new at this. Nubby

Aloha, Nubby! I hope we can share thoughts and ideas here!

Hello,

Thank you Leslie! My husband and I went to Hawaii this last September- Our first time and I fell in love with the Hawaiian Quilts. I bought Hawaiian material and also a book on Hawaiian quilts but these sites are super. I will be really checking them out in the near future, in the mean time I have added them to my favorites!
    :D

I was lucky enough to live for several years in Hawaii. I go back to visit friends and family as often as possible. I love doing Hawaiian quilting. I've made pillows for all my family-it's very large-and some keiki quilts, too. I have a queen size that I need to get back to. Too many interruptions lately. I learned Hawaiian quilting while I lived there. If you get a chance to visit, be sure to check out the Bishop Museum. They have a wonderful collection of Hawaiian quilts. The Mission House also has several.

Boo