Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Leah Day's opinion of the new Janome Horizon 7700

  1. #1
    Super Member mamaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    1,955
    This is Leah Day's opinion of the new Janome Horizon 7700. Very informative for someone who is considering buying one.
    http://freemotionquilting.blogspot.c...on-update.html

  2. #2
    Super Member clem55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lexington,Kentucky
    Posts
    6,200
    Blog Entries
    6
    Mawma, thanks a lot for that site!!

  3. #3
    Power Poster CarrieAnne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Whitewater, WI
    Posts
    26,044
    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Super Member anicra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Dingmans Ferry, Pa
    Posts
    1,170
    I have the 6600 and have been thinking about trading to the 7700. This was a good article. Thanks!

  5. #5
    Junior Member jumpin' judy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cedar Hill, TX
    Posts
    178
    Anybody have a ballpark price? I too have the 6600 and have been bitten by the bug to upgrade (don't tell my husband).

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Lexington Va
    Posts
    53
    I went to the Quilt Odyssey in Pa a few week ago and the Janome people were there. The price then was $3200.
    I got to try this machine and just loved it. Am saving for one now.

  7. #7
    Playtime7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Parrish Fl
    Posts
    148
    I am hoping I can talk myself out of buying one just now... I can get lured in easily... may be time for a trade in.. :) I have the 6600, too, and will figure out if the upgrades are worth the extra money..

  8. #8
    Super Member Pat G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Western Arizona
    Posts
    1,913
    Quote Originally Posted by mamaw
    This is Leah Day's opinion of the new Janome Horizon 7700. Very informative for someone who is considering buying one.
    http://freemotionquilting.blogspot.c...on-update.html
    I am so frustrated. I just cannot find where to start a new topic.
    Since Leah's name came up in this msg. I want to share with you the wonderful customer service she gives. I ordered a pair of Machingers which are gloves to help with free motion work. They didn't come for a long time & when I ck'd my acct. it said from the post office that I had refused them so they got sent back. HUH???
    I contacted Leah & she said they had not returned to her yet. So she immed. sent out another pr. priority mail. They arrived yest. She was so gracious about it. They look like they'll really help with free motion.

  9. #9
    Junior Member itsmesuzq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    So. Calif.
    Posts
    147
    Thanks so much for sharing this review with all of us. I just bought the 6600 about 3 months ago and I love it. The only thing I don't love is the white plastic extender (is that the correct name) that surrounds the machine to make the quilting area larger. I think I'm going to order a see through one like my Juki has. I think I'll keep the 6600 for a year or so until they bring down the prices on the 7700. I seen prices from $2500 to $3500 on this machine! It seems like they are all over the place. I paid $1299 for my 6600. So I feel I got a good deal. Thanks again for sharing.

  10. #10
    Super Member mamaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    1,955
    The average price of the Horizon before trade-in is $2999. The extension table that came with my Horizon is clear and I really like it. I had a clear one with my other Janome also; but I traded that in for this, as my hubby said I couldn't keep it...sob,sob. But....he was nice and bought me a little Janome Jem Platinum that only weighs 12lbs. to take with me when I go to Material Girls night.

  11. #11
    Super Member azwendyg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Flagstaff, AZ
    Posts
    2,076
    Blog Entries
    1
    I got to look at a Horizon at our local quilt shop a couple of days ago. Just beautiful, and made me drool for sure, but not in the budget right now. (They are offering it at a great price by the way, quite a bit below average.)

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    11
    I was at the Quilt Odessey in Hershey, PA the end of July. I bought the class demo Janome Horizon for $2700...with a bunch of extras thrown in for free.

  13. #13
    Member marlet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    51
    I am happy to report that I traded in my 6600 that was 4 yrs old plus the small table that I purchased for it, and had to pay only $1500 for the Horizon. I have a great dealer. Of course I have bought 4 machines from him in the last 4 years as well. 4 yrs ago, the 6600, then last year an embroidery machine, this year a lower end machine for my daughter, and then the Horizon this May. I love mine. Glad I made the trade. Hope you all can manage to do it also when the time is right for you. You won't regret it.

  14. #14
    Super Member tjradj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,328
    Blog Entries
    1
    I brought my new Horizon home a couple of weeks ago and I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it! My "old" machine was a Janome QC 6260 so a lot of things are familiar - like the feet etc.
    I absolutely love the 11" throat space and the extra lighting. She just purrs.
    For me this was a learning curve from an electronic machine to a computerized machine, but seeing as I had my sister's machine for a while, it wasn't too hard to make the jump.
    My ONLY thing I would change would be the knee lifter for the pressor foot. It is too far to the right for me to use comfortably, so I just "duct taped" a 2" piece of plastic tube onto it and now it fits me like a glove!

  15. #15
    Member marlet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by tjradj
    I brought my new Horizon home a couple of weeks ago and I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it! My "old" machine was a Janome QC 6260 so a lot of things are familiar - like the feet etc.
    I absolutely love the 11" throat space and the extra lighting. She just purrs.
    For me this was a learning curve from an electronic machine to a computerized machine, but seeing as I had my sister's machine for a while, it wasn't too hard to make the jump.
    My ONLY thing I would change would be the knee lifter for the pressor foot. It is too far to the right for me to use comfortably, so I just "duct taped" a 2" piece of plastic tube onto it and now it fits me like a glove!
    Did you try to adjust the screw on the handle? It can be made to fit closer to your knee.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.