Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Machine Embroidery
Cotton vs. Polyester thread and shrinkage >

Cotton vs. Polyester thread and shrinkage

Cotton vs. Polyester thread and shrinkage

Old 07-17-2020, 08:29 AM

Default Cotton vs. Polyester thread and shrinkage

Hi

I had a question whether to use cotton or polyester for quilting/piecing. I know there is another thread talking about this but my question is more specific...

I am a beginner and I am going to use a jelly roll for the first time. Now I read that the jelly rolls (specifically from Kauffman) shrink a lot but that is preferable not to pre-wash them because of the potential distortion of the grain and the amount of fraying it can happen. Also because it’s crispier without pre-wash and that makes cutting easier...

anywho, this got me thinking: polyester does not shrink, cotton shrinks. With this in mind, wouldn’t it be best to quilt in this case (without pre-washing fabric) with a cotton thread of weight 40? Then when the shrinkage occurs it would not pucker as much?

Excuses for my long question but this is something I am unable to find a clear answer on... 😅

thank you
Old 07-17-2020, 09:10 AM

I use a 50 wt. polyester most of the time ant have great results.
Old 07-17-2020, 09:41 AM

I have used both cotton and polyester thread and had good results with both. I think as long as you use good quality thread your project will turn out fine. A quilt is only as good as it's thread so use good thread.
Old 07-17-2020, 12:38 PM
Administrator

i don't think cotton thread shrinks as much as cotton fabrics and batting do.
i won't use poly to piece but it's a purely personal preference.
(kinda like some people will never step on a crack or walk under a ladder. lol)
Old 07-18-2020, 02:12 PM
Power Poster

I've used all kinds of threads. I don't use things like Isacord for piecing quilts but have used it for piecing other things. So far nothing has fallen apart or broken.
Old 07-18-2020, 08:29 PM