Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Problems loading embroidery patterns into Brother se400

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    St. Louis, Mo
    Posts
    41

    Problems loading embroidery patterns into Brother se400

    Has anyone had a problem loading patterns into the Brother se400? I have purchased embroidery patterns from 2 different companys. The file shows the data (file size) but there is no graphic in the touch screen to select. When I try to transfer again....it says File already exists. I bought the same patterns from two different companies, thinking the first one was corrupt and would deal with getting a refund later. I contacted the companies and so far no response..... I am using the emboidery patterns to quilt the current quilt I am making. Any help would be appreciated.. Thanks girls!...and guys!
    Judie Maurath

  2. #2
    Super Member newbee3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Central Iowa
    Posts
    2,021
    Blog Entries
    2
    when you try it again change the file by adding a # at the end then you can transfer again.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Freddie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    288
    If you still have problem, try this. Make sure you downloaded in the PES format.I cannot transfer anything that is not unzipped. I don't have the SE400, but I own the PE770. But in general they work the same. I know you can transfer directly from the computer to your machine, but it has to be in the correct format and unzipped. Are you downloading the file to your computer first? I do. Then I check to see if I have to unzip the file. (Go to downloaded file on your computer and right click and click extract. That will open it) Then you transfer the unzipped file to your machine. Let us know how you are doing. You are going to love your machine. I do.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    St. Louis, Mo
    Posts
    41
    Thank you for your input, but the# did not work....tried it at the end of the file extension and at the end of the file name both did not work. They are PES files and they are unzipped. I was wondering if there has to be some kind of conversion......although I did'nt have to do it with any other files. I've used several other patterns with no problem, Thanks again girls.
    Judie Maurath

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    88
    Can you load a previous pattern. If you can, then it has to be the new pattern. I would check to make sure the pattern s unzipped, and that it is the right format, pes. Sorry just read your reply. Is the pattern too big for your machine.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1
    Did you ever figure this out? I'm having the same problem.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    73
    There are some that say pes but are dst Anita good designs are that way & will not work in my white ( same as brother. they will open in pe700 but say dst. Have a cd of designs & they company was not very helpfu either so Idon't buy that brand.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1
    I am having the same problem. Did anyone ever figure this out? I have been transferring files just fine up until this past weekend. Now, when I try to import from the PC to my SE400, it says it is transmitting, but nothing shows up on the display screen. Not sure if there is a problem with my machine or something I am doing wrong. I am using a .pes file, smaller than 4x4 and it doesn't have any special characters in the filename. It is unzipped. I basically put together a monogram from my Sew What Pro software.

  9. #9
    Super Member Weezy Rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,159
    DST and EXP are formats that don't have colors, they have color stops. A design in a file looks awful. The digitizer puts in the colors they want.
    Here's a Converter:
    http://www.wilcom.com/en-us/products/truesizer.aspx

    Another one:
    http://oesdartsizer.com/

    They will save in PES.

    They both will show the picture of the file. Make sure that it isn't just red, blue, green, black, etc where the color stops are located and actually has the colors. I use Designers Studio, and it will show all the formats.
    Last edited by Weezy Rider; 04-14-2014 at 01:45 PM.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1

    Possible answer

    Quote Originally Posted by pblattel View Post
    I am having the same problem. Did anyone ever figure this out? I have been transferring files just fine up until this past weekend. Now, when I try to import from the PC to my SE400, it says it is transmitting, but nothing shows up on the display screen. Not sure if there is a problem with my machine or something I am doing wrong. I am using a .pes file, smaller than 4x4 and it doesn't have any special characters in the filename. It is unzipped. I basically put together a monogram from my Sew What Pro software.
    I've spent all day futzing with trying to get a design to transfer to my SE400 via USB and I've found the solution, to my version of the problem, at least. If the design you're trying to transfer is bigger than the 4x4 design size, the file won't show up.

    I thought that size referred to megabytes-- the file itself was too big. While that can be a problem, my design was something like 4.10" x 3. When I attempted to load designs that fit the 4x4 restriction, they showed up without a problem.

    Hope this helps!

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    1
    Hi everyone. I see this has been an issue previously and I am really hoping that someone can help me. This is the exact behavior I am seeing. I copy a design over, it's within the hope measurements, the SE400 says it's transmitting, but nothing shows on the screen. I have copied over other files before without issue. The file size is only 12KB. It will show the file size has increased and that it is retrieving the file. Why will the design not show? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Oh, and I alos tried to copy over the other file that it did do previously, and it won't go either.
    Thanks!

  12. #12
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7,598
    Blog Entries
    3
    this is a wild guess, so might not be of any help.

    there are several versions of the .PES format (v5 - v10)
    the newer files might be in a version your machine doesn't read.
    I Quilt, I Nap, I Quilt Some More ... Aaaaah, The Good Life!

    for Newsletter or Digest issues, please contact [email protected]

    To contact me with questions or suggestions that relate to our community, you may email [email protected]


  13. #13
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Sunny Florida
    Posts
    1,854
    Quote Originally Posted by Rodeodreams View Post
    Hi everyone. I see this has been an issue previously and I am really hoping that someone can help me. This is the exact behavior I am seeing. I copy a design over, it's within the hope measurements, the SE400 says it's transmitting, but nothing shows on the screen. I have copied over other files before without issue. The file size is only 12KB. It will show the file size has increased and that it is retrieving the file. Why will the design not show? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Oh, and I alos tried to copy over the other file that it did do previously, and it won't go either.
    Thanks!
    What is the stitch count on the EMB design? What is the stitch count limit on your EMB machine? Compare for compatibility between design and machine.

  14. #14
    Super Member mermaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tennessee, UC area
    Posts
    1,294
    Do you have a software that lets you look at the design, edit, etc? Download "My Editor" from Wings--it is free. After customizing for use, open the design and see if there are any stray stitches . The design size will display lower left bottom--is that correct? You can erase (delete) stray threads, resize, or move to the center--that might be the problem. If you are transferring via USB, be sure you don't have too many designs loaded on that. I have several software programs, but Editor is free and does so very much, I would not be w/o it.

  15. #15
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Sunny Florida
    Posts
    1,854
    Are you using a USB stick? First, check the stick. They can go bad and no longer work. What size is the USB? Some machine models have size limit on the USB size. Copy one design onto the USB. Don't copy a whole file folder or a zip file.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Southern USA
    Posts
    388
    That has been my experience. I was reading the thread to see if anyone had suggested this.
    Quote Originally Posted by PatriceJ View Post
    this is a wild guess, so might not be of any help.

    there are several versions of the .PES format (v5 - v10)
    the newer files might be in a version your machine doesn't read.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Southern USA
    Posts
    388
    I thought of this too. If it's too many files for the machine to read it might keep saying transmitting. (I know the USB stick holds a lot of files, but you can't have very many files on it as the machine can't read too many.
    Quote Originally Posted by Rhonda K View Post
    Are you using a USB stick? First, check the stick. They can go bad and no longer work. What size is the USB? Some machine models have size limit on the USB size. Copy one design onto the USB. Don't copy a whole file folder or a zip file.

  18. #18
    Super Member karenpatrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rosedale, Indiana
    Posts
    2,010
    I had the same problem when I tried to import patterns from the web. I was told to use a very low capacity memory stick.
    The one I bought when I bought my machine is a 1 gig. It would load but not sew. I got an error message that said something like cannot sew from this screen. I accidentally hit the part of the display that shows the size hoop to use. The light turned green and it sewed. No idea why that worked. I have a babylock ellure plus but I think that certain things are the same on all their embroidery machines. I have seen the one that nancy zieman used on her show and a lot of the operation was the same even her machine was high end and mine is a middle of the road machine. Let me know if this works.

  19. #19
    Super Member deedum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bluebell
    Posts
    4,292
    I am guessing you are transferring a 5x7 design, and this machine is limited to a 4x4. make sure you are transferring the right size or your machine won't register anything bigger than your machine is designed for. Just my thoughts.

  20. #20
    Gay
    Gay is offline
    Senior Member Gay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    S.E. Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    955
    Blog Entries
    2
    I had some issues with designs being saved sideways, by the digitiser, but managed to rotate it with the machine's controls. Also agree with 'mermaid' about stray stitches, just one stitch out in the never-never can cause problems.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.