Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: The "A" (as in applique) word

Blog Entries
    I see so many absolutely stunning quilts that many of you share with us and I assume, I know that's a terrible word, that they are all hand applique.

I have been quilting for over 25 years but have yet to do very much of it. I think I am a little intimidated by the whole idea of appliqueing anything but a very simple block. I'm wondering how many of you out there do the real thing and how many either machine applique or fuse. If you machine, do you use a buttonhole stitch or a satin stitch and if you fuse, what's the best fusible you use? What method works best for you? What tips can you give me? I need some help getting motivated and am hoping that your experience will light a fire under me. Thanks.

Blog Entries
    I machine applique with Heat n Bond . My machine has an applique stitch that I adjust a little , to make it smaller .

I just recently started applique also :wink: AND love it :lol:

I am not a fan of applique. BUT I have done it both ways--machine and hand. I hate hand work, but love the look of hand applique better than machine. Some can get the corners looking great with a machine, mine look like a disaster.... I usually do button hole stitch by hand and satin on machine (because of the disaster with button hole) I ALWAYS use some form of fusing. The last hand applique I did I use Steam a Seam 2 and it was very thick for me and difficult to needle. When I use a cheap fuse from a bolt from Jo-anns I don't have that problem. You just need to try different things to see what you like and go from there. Good luck on your adventure!