Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
100 wt. thread causing thread throw-ups on my quilt >

100 wt. thread causing thread throw-ups on my quilt

100 wt. thread causing thread throw-ups on my quilt

Old 06-11-2017, 12:51 PM

Default 100 wt. thread causing thread throw-ups on my quilt

Hey all,
I've been using Wonderfil Invisifil 100 wt. thread for FMQ stitch in the ditch on my Brother PQ1500. When I use the small spools, it does fine and I've used it in both the bobbin and top thread that way with no problem. But if I use the cones I periodically get some thread throw-ups and snarls around my needle. In addition, it's giving me fits in terms of tension because it will suddenly wrap itself around the take up lever or even the bottom of the needle (both of which function to increase the top tension) and then I start getting bobbin thread pokies. Since I've been FMQing for many years, and it only happens when I'm using this thread, I'm pretty sure all of this is a result of the thread sometimes coming off the cone at an uneven rate. I have been putting aurifil 50 wt. cotton in the bobbin because I can't get my machine to consistently form stitches when I use the 100 wt in both the top and bobbin.

To end the thread throw up problem, So far I have tried:

increasing top tension-- no good, caused bobbin thread to show up on surface

running thread through the three hole pre-tensioner backwards-- helped some, but didn't eliminate the problem

Using a thread net-- caused tension problems that I could not resolve as the thread is so fine it was catching on the netting at times--

Taking the cone off my machine's holder and putting it on an auxiliary holder behind my machine, helped some, but still had the problem.