Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: 6600 Tension Problems

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    33
    Hi,

    I'm hoping someone can help me. I recently bought a Janome 6600, today I tried FMQ and its a disaster. The OM says tension between 2 - 6 well that isn't working. It leaves huge loops on the bottom at 2, 3, 4, at 5 is small loops and at 6 it starts to pucker the material. If I go back to standard stitching it is fine but with dogs down, darning foot on, etc it just isn't working. I have rethreaded the machine, rewound the bobbin, blown out the line. Nothing seems to work.

    I also contacted the shop where I purchased it and the owner old me she 'never' touches the tension and had no idea what was wrong, said she'd contact Janome and try to get back to me. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Sorry this is so long.

  2. #2
    Super Member Shelbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,954
    Did you change your needle? A small burr or nick will really affect your tension. I'd also check my bobbin case for any nicks or burrs. The Janome has a wick hole under the bobbin case which sometimes dries out causing the bobbin case to rattle and jump and sometimes the needle makes contact with it causing a nick. Nowhere in the manual does it tell you to oil it there. Inspect the case, oil the wick hole and change your needle. Also make sure that your feed dogs are dropping all the way down to disengage and allow you to FM quilt. (Don't even ask how I know all of this) Needless to say I was a very unhappy FM quilter for a long time and I had a dealer who wouldn't believe me that it was the machine and not operator error!

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    33
    Thank you, I will oil the wick and check the bobbin. The machine is only one week old.

    Lyndy

  4. #4
    Super Member sewcrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,955
    Check to see what you have the speed on. When I FMQ I have the speed set at med-low. Had to find what was comfortable for me. Didn't like it real fast, so prevent eyelashes, I slowed everything down. The tension is around 5. Are you sure you've put the machine in Mode 2 pattern 11?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    33
    Hi Denise,

    I have the speed set at medium (I'm pretty new at FMQ), Mode 2 pattern 11. If I do a straight line the stitches are pretty good but as soon as I start doing curves the loops start.

    Quote Originally Posted by sewcrafty
    Check to see what you have the speed on. When I FMQ I have the speed set at med-low. Had to find what was comfortable for me. Didn't like it real fast, so prevent eyelashes, I slowed everything down. The tension is around 5. Are you sure you've put the machine in Mode 2 pattern 11?

  6. #6
    Super Member chuckbere15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Madison Heights, MI
    Posts
    1,091
    Blog Entries
    4
    My mom has a Janome 6500 and I told her to oil the bobbin but she doesn't listen to me. I will forward her this message, and changing the needle and a thorough cleaning keeps the machine running smooth. I learned the hard way. I hope that it works out for you.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    33
    Thank you, its really frustrating on a brand new machine! My older Janome works fine when I FMQ.

  8. #8
    Super Member Raggiemom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    3,604
    My FMQ still doesn't look the greatest on my 6600 but it is better than it used to be. I think it just takes ALOT of practice.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    33
    Hi Heather,

    At this point I just want to get rid of the 'loops' then I can practice, practice, practice!

  10. #10
    Senior Member Mary M's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    931
    I really feel for you for I had the same problem when I first got my 6600P. What they have done is not set the bobbin tension for FMQ and then they came out with another bobbin they wanted the customers to buy so they could FMQ. I did get the other bobbin and still had trouble. The people at the store I bought it from was absolutely no help. I have found that the pressure foot adjustment [on top of left handside of machine] needs to be up as far as you can make it go. I have heard some people with this machine say they adjust the bobbin tension. I am very reluctant to do this for it can be dificult forsome of us to get that tension then set back for regular sewing. Thi machine was advertised as a great quilting machine but I think for it to be great for quilting the tension should be easy to deal with. Since I have bought my Juki TL98 I use it for my FMQ and works very well. Sure hope you get it figured out for I know how frustrating it is to get those big loops and eyelashes.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    33
    Mary,

    Thank you. It is frustrating especially since I specifically bought this machine for FMQ - guess I should have done more research. I suppose I will have to get the other bobbin and see if that works for me. Did you order it online? I have tried everything everyone has suggested and the problem still exists. It is a shame some of the dealers are less than helpful. Sorry you never got your 6600P to work for FMQ. I'll keep trying.

  12. #12
    Super Member sewcrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,955
    Quote Originally Posted by Lyndy
    Hi Denise,

    I have the speed set at medium (I'm pretty new at FMQ), Mode 2 pattern 11. If I do a straight line the stitches are pretty good but as soon as I start doing curves the loops start.

    Quote Originally Posted by sewcrafty
    Check to see what you have the speed on. When I FMQ I have the speed set at med-low. Had to find what was comfortable for me. Didn't like it real fast, so prevent eyelashes, I slowed everything down. The tension is around 5. Are you sure you've put the machine in Mode 2 pattern 11?
    OK I believe the eyelashes are caused because the speed of the machine and the speed at which you're moving your fabric is off. It does take practice. Slow down your machine speed a little and play with a quilting sandwich. You should start to see improvment. You can also try putting your machine on Mode 2 pattern 13. I sometimes use that also.

  13. #13
    Senior Member Mary M's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    931
    I had the store we bought the machine from order the blue bobbin. It is odd though that other machines can do fine with FMQ but some of us do have problems with the Janome6600. I didn't find the speed to have anything to do with the problem. I personally think it is all in getting the tension perfected....this is from my experiences.

    Quote Originally Posted by Lyndy
    Mary,

    Thank you. It is frustrating especially since I specifically bought this machine for FMQ - guess I should have done more research. I suppose I will have to get the other bobbin and see if that works for me. Did you order it online? I have tried everything everyone has suggested and the problem still exists. It is a shame some of the dealers are less than helpful. Sorry you never got your 6600P to work for FMQ. I'll keep trying.

  14. #14
    Junior Member Quilter Lois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    166
    I had one with the same problem until I discovered this:
    1. Start with a practice "quilt" with the same fabrics and batting about 12" or so.
    2. Set your tension to 3 - if the bottom threads are too loose, set it tighter to 5 and try again.
    3. Keep playing around with the tension like this on the practice piece until you are happy.
    4. When doing FMQ, set your machine speed about half way and then with you start put your foot all the way down and work from that steady speed. You will get faster as you get more practice, and then move your speed up as you do. Good Luck

  15. #15
    qnana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Central Virginia
    Posts
    126
    I practiced all afternoon and no longer have eyelashes! I do have sore shoulders. ( : I did get the FMQ bobbin, and it does help. Tried without changing it first. My tension seems to work best at 0 for the pressure foot and 5 for the reg tension. I did better if I didn't use the foot control and set the speed on the middle of the slide arrows to practice. Dogs up or down don't seem to make any difference that I can see. I made a "sandwich" and wore machiners gloves. What seems to make eyelashes for me is my movement of the material. I moved it too quickly when I started, and jerkily when I got tired. I could tell because my top stitches were longer when I was making eyelashes. I used different colored threads so I could see the problems more easily. Just hang in there. Everyone says practice, and I believe they are right!!!

  16. #16
    Senior Member Mary M's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    931
    So glad to hear you are doing better with the FMQ. Before we know it you will be a pro.!


    Quote Originally Posted by qnana
    I practiced all afternoon and no longer have eyelashes! I do have sore shoulders. ( : I did get the FMQ bobbin, and it does help. Tried without changing it first. My tension seems to work best at 0 for the pressure foot and 5 for the reg tension. I did better if I didn't use the foot control and set the speed on the middle of the slide arrows to practice. Dogs up or down don't seem to make any difference that I can see. I made a "sandwich" and wore machiners gloves. What seems to make eyelashes for me is my movement of the material. I moved it too quickly when I started, and jerkily when I got tired. I could tell because my top stitches were longer when I was making eyelashes. I used different colored threads so I could see the problems more easily. Just hang in there. Everyone says practice, and I believe they are right!!!

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    662
    I have a 6600 . I just had some some correspondence with a shop where I labeled the machine "tempermental". She took exception to that label ,but then turned around and sent me a 4 paragraph email on all the the thing I could try to get it to work right. My old work horse Janome would just sew. No fuss. I miss that.

    It's just going to take time and pratice. I spent all afternoon with my machine today and I'm feeling more confident. You really do need to fuss with it. I started making sandwiches and labeling the thread, needle, and batting as well as all the settings. I don't know if it's a waste of time yet, but it seems like everything needs tweaked and I just want to have something to consult with .

  18. #18
    Super Member DogHouseMom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Knot Merrill, Southern Indiana
    Posts
    5,729
    Quote Originally Posted by Ladyjanedoe
    I have a 6600 . I just had some some correspondence with a shop where I labeled the machine "tempermental". She took exception to that label ,but then turned around and sent me a 4 paragraph email on all the the thing I could try to get it to work right. My old work horse Janome would just sew. No fuss. I miss that.
    I agree! Someone had asked what car we would compare our machines to and my Janome 6600 is a Ferrari - beautiful, sexy, but oh so finicky and temperamental. It's a love/hate relationship. I'm waiting for the love.

  19. #19
    Super Member EasyPeezy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,800
    Don't know if this would help you but I've read that some remove their
    pedal on the Janome 6600 and use the start/stop button to FMQ so you
    don't have to worry about the speed and can concentrate on the quilting.
    Hope I explained this right. LOL

    I have to give FMQ another go one of these days. My first experience was a
    complete disaster even with the blue bobbin case.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.