Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Accuquilt rag die >

Accuquilt rag die

Accuquilt rag die

Old 08-29-2012, 05:32 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Arcadia, Ca.
Posts: 397
Default Accuquilt rag die

I have an accuquilt machine and I'm considering buying the rag die. I have heard that there is problems with it. If you have used the die, did you like it? Do you find any problems with using it.
appliquequiltdesigns is offline  
Old 08-29-2012, 05:44 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
Posts: 6,726
Default

I made a flannel rag quilt using my rag die. I used 1 layer of cotton and 2 layers of flannel. I layered the cotton and the 2 layers of flannel together and cut a set of 3. I loved how it made all the snips for me! I did find that if I placed a piece of paper (I used an old magazine page) on top of the cutting surface of the die then layered my fabrics it cut down on the fabric threads that got stuck in the die around the cutting edges. Threads do tend to get stuck down in the grooves and you will have to use your picking tool to get them out or your die won't cut all pieces of the fabric completely. Made it so nice to have all the pieces of each block cut out together!
auntpiggylpn is offline  
Old 08-29-2012, 05:46 PM
  #3  
Power Poster
 
BellaBoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Front row
Posts: 14,648
Default

I have the large size one. I use it a lot. I put a piece of thin paper over the die before the fabric. That keeps the strings out of the die. I put the batting (cut 1/2" or 1" smaller) between two fabric squares and cut at the same time. I just do one block at a time.
BellaBoo is offline  
Old 08-29-2012, 07:23 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
luvTooQuilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: A Hop from Heaven, a Skip from Sanity and a Jump from the Good Life....
Posts: 6,664
Default

I dont use batting - instead i use three layers of flannel..

I layer an old joannes flyer over the die, then layer the three flannel pieces in this order: back, middle flannel instead of batting, and the top flannel.. and sometimes ill layer another piece of paper if it gets too static clingy... i make one 'block' at a time..

Works perfect and super fast too..

Also I have both sizes and i prefer the larger one..
luvTooQuilt is offline  
Old 08-30-2012, 03:28 AM
  #5  
Power Poster
 
BellaBoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Front row
Posts: 14,648
Default

I spray my cutting mat with Static Guard. The cling disappears and stays static free for a long time.
BellaBoo is offline  
Old 08-30-2012, 07:34 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Outer Space
Posts: 9,319
Default

I have the rag die that I've used almost constantly on my Studio. No problems whatsover and I've not heard of any problems.. I have the die for the rag and then the separate square die for the batting ( so 2 in total).
Candace is offline  
Old 08-30-2012, 08:18 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
luvTooQuilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: A Hop from Heaven, a Skip from Sanity and a Jump from the Good Life....
Posts: 6,664
Default

Originally Posted by BellaBoo View Post
I spray my cutting mat with Static Guard. The cling disappears and stays static free for a long time.

I use it as well but i can go thru a can in two quilts... paper works fine for me..
luvTooQuilt is offline  
Old 08-30-2012, 03:38 PM
  #8  
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 25
Default

I've had the rag die for my GO! for a few years and have never had a problem. It has been used to make many rag quilts. One of the best payback quilts for fundraisers too, as they are fast, fun, cuddly and very popular in silent auctions.

I've had many quilting friends that have experience with making rag quilts the old way and they felt that the GO! saved them 90% time making rag quilts.

I have found I get better cuts (less thread issue) when I use good quality flannel, but technically the die works well with inexpensive flannel too.

I wish the design cut the square out of the corners, but as it wasn't designed that way I manually cut it out.

If you do end up with threads getting caught in the die, you may see some of the blades sticking up after a cut, You can simply place your mat on top and gently push the blade back down inside of the die foam.

I think you'll enjoy this die. GO! for it and have fun making fast & fun rag quilts.

SewCalGal
SewCalGal is offline  
Old 08-30-2012, 07:34 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Arcadia, Ca.
Posts: 397
Default

Thank you all for your imput. I am making my first rag quilt right now. I already have all the squares cut out. I f I decide to do more rag quilts I think I will buy the die.
appliquequiltdesigns is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
partyof6
Main
19
02-24-2015 06:22 AM
Valerie Ann
Main
6
08-10-2014 04:33 PM
CutNup
Main
13
10-27-2011 07:26 AM
RitaVil
Main
8
01-01-2011 09:59 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.