Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Advice please!

Okay so this is my first attempt ( well honestly second..first time didn't go great ) at making a Pinwheel block...No matter what I do I can't seem to get my points in the center to line up exactly. I'm using as accurate of a 1/4 inch seam as I humanly possibly can, so I don't think it is that...any other suggestions?
    Attached Images Attached Images

My sister pins them at the place where they meet and they go much better.

Blog Entries
    Can you post a picture?
    Sometimes as we sew the very last few stitches, the fabric tends to veer to one side. Could that be it?

Blog Entries
    I also glue baste my intersections, for me, pinning sometimes distorts the seams and I get better results this way.

http://www.quiltingboard.com/t-29275-1.htm

Super Member Lisa_wanna_b_quilter's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    http://www.allthingsfrugal.com/pinwheel.htm

This website helped my pinwheels along. The top is now done and looks pretty good. I just can't seem to get to quilting it.

If you sew from the middle out, then middle out again it will help. Kind of a pain to do, but it works.

Blog Entries
    Make sure that when you are sewing the first two blocks together they are a good match. Other wise when you sew them into the units you are showing, the centers will be off. :wink:

I stick a pin through both points, lining them up together, then I pin on both sides of the points. By doing this I end up with perfect points about 98% of the time. (The other 2% is operator error, lol.)

I pin, pin, pin. That way you know your seems and points will come together. After you have your squares done then you square them up before you go on.

Blog Entries