Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Anyone doing the 2010 Hoffman Challenge?

Is anyone going to do the Challenge? I've never done one before and I love the fabric this year. I ordered a 1/2 yd cut set of the 13 fabrics and an additional yard of the challenge fabric.

No idea what I'll do with it yet.

http://www.hoffmanchallenge.com/currentchallenge.html

Best of luck to you!! I entered last year's because I loved the fabric, but this year's just doesn't talk to me. Make sure you look at all the past year's winners to get a feel for what they like to see. Karen McTavish's book, Quilting for Show, helped me a lot because I had never entered any show before, let alone one of this size (800-1,000 entries every year!). Just remember, you have absolutely nothing to lose and a world of things to learn...even if you never send the quilt off to Colorado!! :D I wish you the very best!

Power Poster
    I'm glad you put this up.

Turns out I have a piece of the 1990 Challenge fabric - Jungle Madness.

Blog Entries
    This sounds like fun, but waaaay out of my league...I will happily sit back and watch the rest of you create :D:D:D

One thing I would advise, because this is a competition after all, is not to show your design or progress to anyone but a very few trusted friends until after they have confirmed receipt of your quilt in CO. Fellow quilters will understand, I guarantee it. A good support system is priceless, but keep the design itself close to the vest.

DA Mayer entered the 2008 Challenge, but that's the only other board member I'm aware of that has sent something in.

Blog Entries
    I hadn't thought of that...I will happily sit back and wait to see what you all create and have entered :D:D:D