Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Apple Core Quilts

Apple Core Quilts

I'm wanting to dwindle down some of my 10 inch squares and have thought about an apple core quilt. But I've never worked with curves before. It seems that doing a lot of pinning is what is successful in getting the curves right. Who has made one of these quilts before and did you enjoy the process? Any tips to pass on?

Blog Entries
    Jenny at the MQSC did a tutorial on making the Apple core with 10" squares . She even designed a ruler that big for it too. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=GiUnxkDikLg . I have never made one yet, but its on my bucket list, especially with that cool ruler!
    We didn't realize we were making memories, we just knew we were having fun. ~ Winnie the Pooh ~

1912 World's Rotary Treadle (White Company), 1942 Singer 66-16, 1952 Pfaff 130-6, 1954 Singer 15-91, 1956 Singer 201-2

Quote Originally Posted by lindaschipper View Post
    I'm wanting to dwindle down some of my 10 inch squares and have thought about an apple core quilt. But I've never worked with curves before. It seems that doing a lot of pinning is what is successful in getting the curves right. Who has made one of these quilts before and did you enjoy the process? Any tips to pass on?
    Agree! patience and pinning is your key to success.

While I have not made a quilt, I have made a large apple core runner of smaller cores.
    As I worked along, I folded the edges, to find the centre and 1/4 point.
    Then matched them to the next ....... pinned and sewed.

The first few were a bit clumsy and awkward and soon enough, I found my groove,
    and it was smooth after that!!!

I quite enjoyed it and would not hesitate doing another apple core project ..... sometime!

Good Luck with yours ... and remember, patience and pinning!