Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Applique with extra padding >

Applique with extra padding

Applique with extra padding

Old 03-08-2020, 12:19 PM

Default Applique with extra padding

Although I have quilted for decades, I'm fairly new to applique. I'm doing a project (machine applique) and thought it would look more interesting if I put some batting, flannel, or other material under the applique piece to raise it from the background. Is this method common and if so, what kind of material do I use? Any other hints for this? Thanks.
Old 03-08-2020, 12:30 PM

If I am doing a fast turn applique I would add the extra bat into the hole made to turn the applique piece before I press it in place to be sewn down. It won't take much and sometimes a poly bat is better for stuffing your pieces.
Old 03-08-2020, 02:03 PM
Power Poster

Research trapunto and you will find several ways to put extra batt behind appliqués to make then stand out. Since you are doing machine appliqué, it is simple to put an extra piece of batt behind the background behind the appliqué. You can outline stitch around the appliqué with matching thread and then trim the batt close to the stitching. After all your pieces are trapunto you then make your quilt as usual and quilt.
Old 03-08-2020, 03:34 PM
Power Poster

I like to use batting with my applique. I like the look it gives and also makes it more stable.
Old 03-09-2020, 02:42 AM

I find that quilting around an appliqued piece often makes it puff up. With leaves, I like to add a vein by quilting down the middle. This adds a little more texture, too. You could try to tack some batting under pieces you especially want puffy before you sandwich your quilt.
Old 03-09-2020, 04:36 AM

I agree with Tartan. I love Trapunto and the added dimension it adds Juliash has a good way as well. Can’t wait to see what you decide.
Old 03-09-2020, 06:49 AM