Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
APQS George Midarm? >

APQS George Midarm?

APQS George Midarm?

Old 01-03-2014, 02:43 PM

Default APQS George Midarm?

Does anyone here quilt on an APQS George? If so, do you like it? If not, what did you choose instead and why? I've found one on Craigslist that is a few years old, rarely used and about half of retail for a new one. I'd like to get some opinions before I decide.

I'm just a hobbyist, and I've been thinking about moving to a better all-in-one machine because I don't need anything like a long arm. But truly, I don't need another machine for piecing, just quilting, so this option is looking really good.

Thanks!
Old 01-03-2014, 03:11 PM

I've seen the George but didn't even try it out. The price tag sent me running. I am in the minority. I bought a Tin Lizzie sit down instead. I like my Lizzie. I opted to get it instead of the HQ for several reasons - I like the machine orientation, I didn't have to buy an overlay because the machine sits too high on the table without the overlay, I also really liked the table itself. It came with a huge fold up extension off the back which I love... and with the difference in cost I purchased a Juki 2000 for piecing which I absolutely adore.

The George is a great machine but the $2500 extra difference between it and the Lizzie can go really far.
There are several other companies that offer a sit down machine. If you are able to you should go to a big quilt show and try them all out in one day so you can try the machines back to back and figure out what is best for you
Old 01-03-2014, 03:23 PM

Thanks! That's great information, I'm off and researching...

I had not considered a mid- or longarm before mainly because of price, but when this machine came up it piqued my interest. Now I have to decide if I have a crush on the idea, or if it's true love. LOL

Thanks again!
Old 01-03-2014, 03:26 PM