Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: automatic upper tension or manual

  1. #1
    too
    too is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2

    automatic upper tension or manual

    Trying to decide if I want a machine with automatic upper tension or manual. I have read several different opinions. Some are saying even with the automatic upper tension they still have to tweek it depending on thickness of quilt or type of thread. Is it worth the additional cost of a sewing machine for one with automatic tension? thanks in advance for everyone's opinion.

  2. #2
    Super Member petthefabric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Eastern Madera County, Ca
    Posts
    1,672
    My machine has auto upper tension. It was set with certain parameters of fabric, pattern, etc. I can over ride the default settings, & I often do. I teach FMQ at the store so they know my opinions on tension.

    I wouldn't choose a machine based on this option. I chose my machine for other reasons and auto tension is a standard feature, not an option.

  3. #3
    Super Member kiffie2413's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,817
    Blog Entries
    1
    Hi, and welcome to QB! I agree with pethefabric...that being said, I have machines that have both auto and manual tension settings. There are times I have to "tweak" the tension on them all...but its not been a big deal for me. I am sure there will be others along soon to give you some more opinions/help, this is a great place for that!
    Regards,
    Kif
    Always do right. This will gratify some people and astonish the rest~Mark Twain

  4. #4
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    6,060
    Me I prefer the automatic because you have to tweak with it less than manual. My brother has AHA and i hardly ever touch the tension button with different fabrics. I can adjust it if I need to but I hardly need to which is nice to not have to keep a log of my settings like I did with my mechanical. I personally would not be without the AHA feature after having it and think its worth the money. My machine you can turn the AHA feature under the settings(I never do) and you can adjust tension on the front screen so it is super easy to adjust on my machine
    Brother (XL-3500i, CV3550, SQ-9050, Dreamweaver XE6200D), Juki MO-2000QVP, Handiquilter Avante

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    5,369
    Blog Entries
    1
    I think that's up to the machines and the user. I have the Diamond Deluxe and it has auto tension and thread distribution and I never have to adjust the tension no matter what I'm doing. I have the capabilities but glad that I don't have to worry about that now. My machine has settings for the different fabrics as well so like this weekend when I was sewing heavy layers of canvas I told the machine what I was sewing and made sure I had the right needle (jean needle) and had no problems with it sewing. The only time I had a problem it was before I knew how much using the right setting made such a big difference. I'm so glad that I have it.
    Judy

  6. #6
    Super Member #1piecemaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Ashdown, AR
    Posts
    9,649
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'm living in the dark ages.I've been buying cheap for so long that I didn't know this was an option. If I thought for one minute, it would make my life and tension issues easier, I'd go for it. That being said from someone who just had some tension issues. Yuck!!
    Be the best that you can be at everything you do.
    Find me on Facebook at Leesa's Fabrics

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    5,369
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by #1piecemaker View Post
    I'm living in the dark ages.I've been buying cheap for so long that I didn't know this was an option. If I thought for one minute, it would make my life and tension issues easier, I'd go for it. That being said from someone who just had some tension issues. Yuck!!
    Its so possible. I had the Viking Ruby for a yr and now the Diamond Deluxe for a yr so in the past two yrs I've "never" had to adjust it. I've done FMQ, quilting, sewing, embroidery, etc and not tension adjusting at all. Life is sweet.
    Judy

  8. #8
    Super Member donnajean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Holland, PA
    Posts
    4,320
    I've had my Viking Rose since 1996 & I can' remember "ever" touching the tension dial.

  9. #9
    Super Member ghostrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4,666
    Not something I'd want at all. I sew through paper, metal leaf and foil, mesh, screening, plastic and all sorts of oddball stuff in addition to just plain fabric. I'd much prefer to set the tension however I want it. What about cotton fabric fused to very stiff interfacing? My machine is smart, but I don't want it to 'assume' what I want it to do. Just my personal feeling on auto tension.
    The Earth without art is just "Eh".

  10. #10
    too
    too is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2
    bumping to see if I can get more opinions. thanks for all the advise so far

  11. #11
    Super Member petthefabric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Eastern Madera County, Ca
    Posts
    1,672
    Quote Originally Posted by ghostrider View Post
    Not something I'd want at all. I sew through paper, metal leaf and foil, mesh, screening, plastic and all sorts of oddball stuff in addition to just plain fabric. I'd much prefer to set the tension however I want it. What about cotton fabric fused to very stiff interfacing? My machine is smart, but I don't want it to 'assume' what I want it to do. Just my personal feeling on auto tension.
    You sound like an artist.....wanting to try everything possible. And fearless.....we'll just need some adjustments.
    I applaude you. Keep pushing the limits.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Kauai, Hawaii
    Posts
    375
    Love the auto tension on my Viking -- do make adjustments to the pivot height and foot pressure settings, which I change when doing fmq and putting on bindings, etc. It might be possible to change the thread tension instead of these -- having found the settings on these which work for me, there is no need to adjust the tension. One thing about the fine tuning is that these are easily changed by small increments, have numerical indicators, making it easy to note and save for future use.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.