Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Batting?

Batting?

I'm extremely new to quilting and sewing in general, and I have absolutely no idea what type of batting I should use for my quilt.
    What is the best batting to use when making a summer quilt? (It gets very, very hot where I live so I don't want a warm, winter quilt)
    Or should I use just not use batting at all and just sew the quilt top and the backing together?

Blog Entries
    You could just sew the top and backing together or you could put a piece of flannel in the middle. It's up to you. I always use Warm and Natural for the batting, but I live in Minnesota, and it can get pretty chilly.

Blog Entries
    No batting is an option but some use flannel in place of batting.

Blog Entries
    I would probably opt for the thinnest weight (request weight) of Quilter's Dream cotton. Batting gives a little body and drape to the quilt. Here is a link: http://quiltersdreambatting.com/dream-cotton.htm

Super Member quiltingshorttimer's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    I don't like not using a batting because the thickness of the 3 layers helps the quilting stitches "sink" in and look flawless. going to throw out a "wild" idea--but what about a thin wool bat? Wool breathes--meaning unlike poly, it doesn't trap sweat. And unlike cotton or a cotton/poly blend, wool is very lightweight and drapes wonderfully. Ask at a local quilt shop to see if they have anything quilted with a layer of wool to see the feel of it.

Blog Entries
    I agree that wool would be a good choice. I like Hobbs Heirloom wool.

Blog Entries
    My summer quilt has Dream wool batting. It is lightweight, breaths, drapes beautifully and is just wonderful. It also launders well, the quilt is used and has held up wonderfully for 10 years and counting.