Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
bent needle bar? >

bent needle bar?

bent needle bar?

Old 02-05-2020, 07:16 AM

Default bent needle bar?

I just had to leave my l month old (to me) Babylock Jazz at the dealers. I tried to change the needle to a new needle and I had to pull the needle out with pliers because it was so tight, when I did that the part holding the screw fell off. I could not get the needle and part back together no matter how hard I tried. The repair guy told me I tightened the screw too tight and bent the shaft on the needle bar. I have been sewing for over 50 years and never had a problem changing needles on any machine I have or had. He also asked me if anything else fell off, which it didn't. So they have to order parts. Has anyone ever had this happen to them? He says he has had to fix other machines for this. I don't see how it is even possible to crush the shaft smaller with a needle in it and it being hard metal. I might be wrong, but. Any opinions
would be appreciated.

Thanks
Old 02-05-2020, 07:48 AM
Power Poster

Hmm, I have never tighten a needle so much to bend the needle clamp, sounds like they are not making with the same quality of older machines.
Old 02-05-2020, 07:58 AM

I want to add to my original post, that I never tightened the screw, because I couldn't get the 2 pieces together to tighten the screw. I told this to the repair man, but he didn't believe me. He also told me it would cost me $125. to fix it. But the Owner came over to me afterwards and told me not to worry, they would order the parts and take care of me. He remembered I just bought the machine there, which was a trade-up from another customer and it was on the sales floor for sale when I bought it.