Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Best fabric for people to write on? What pens to use?

I'm doing a guest quilt for my wedding and people will be writing on pre-cut squares of fabric to be pieced together after the wedding.

Does anyone have a specific brand or type of fabric they'd recommend?

Also, what type of pens?

I've never done a quilt like this before!

Thanks!!!

Blog Entries
    Pigma pens I think is what they are called . Textile pens .

Also will the squares be on a table ? You might want to have a way to mark off the signing area, so when you sew it together you don't lose part of the signature, message !

Congrats on the upcoming wedding :lol:

Blog Entries
    Any cotton fabric will work, except for white on white, it is embossed and doesn't take the ink as well. Ironing freezer paper on the back, makes it easier to hold the paper in place while signing it. The shiny side will stick nicely and it peels right off, leaving no residue :wink:
    If you put blue painters tape around the edges, it keeps people from signing out past the seam allowance :D:D:D

It might be a good idea to iron on freezer paper to the back leaving a 1/2 inch or so around the edge. That way people will not mark clear into the edge & you lose that when you go to put them together. It will be awonderful quilt!

I've done quite a few wedding quilts with guests signing blocks at the reception. Any light colored fabric that will show up a black or blue ink will do fine. I've even used a light cloud fabric. As mentioned before, no white on white fabric.