Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
best way to make HST? >

best way to make HST?

best way to make HST?

Old 07-27-2011, 05:45 AM

Location: in front of this dang computer instead of my Bernina!(Naples, Florida)

Ok, I'm new to this quilty thing, and recently made some pinwheel blocks using the Missouri Quilt method (sew 2 squares together on all four sides, then cut on the diagonal to make four squares).

It was just pointed out in another post that this method results in lots of bias edges, which I know can be trouble.

So, my question is, what is the easiest, most sure-proof way of making HST without bias edges?

I would rather use a special ruler than a paper method (Thangles or whatever).

Hope I'm not opening a can of worms here. :wink:
Old 07-27-2011, 05:55 AM
Power Poster

Cut two squares and put them right sides together.
Draw diagonal between the two corners.
Stitch 1/4" on each side of the line.
Cut down the pencil line.

Voila!! Two HSTs, no bias edges!!!!

I always make mine a little larger and then trip to size using the sewn seam to square up with. That way they are precise .... and give me the accuracy when joining them into blocks!!

If you need multiples ..... just draw the required number of squares on a larger piece of fabric. Add the diagonals. Stitch and then cut on the grid lines as well as the diagonals. Then square and trim.

Easy peasy for a multitude of HSTs in no time!
Old 07-27-2011, 06:06 AM

Originally Posted by QuiltE

I always make mine a little larger and then trip to size using the sewn seam to square up with. That way they are precise .... and give me the accuracy when joining them into blocks!!

If you need multiples ..... just draw the required number of squares on a larger piece of fabric. Add the diagonals. Stitch and then cut on the grid lines as well as the diagonals. Then square and trim.

Easy peasy for a multitude of HSTs in no time!