Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Borders

I am working on the borders of the Queen and Her Court quilt and the instructions read: Note:" Folded border lays dimensionally on top of inner borders" Can someone explain to me what this means? I have never encountered this before and I have been quilting for over 15 years. Yikes!! please help.

Wow, that sure is a lot of verbiage - sounds a lot like some of the state income tax instructions this year! Could you post some pictures of the area in question.

Blog Entries
    I hope someone can help you

Like a piping in clothing or upholstery, only no cording inside, just the border folded in half and stitch in the seam with just a tiny bit showing.

I looked up that pattern made with the Marie Antoinette fabric line. What it looks like to me is that you fold the material, match up the seam line, lay the out border to it then sew all three layers. The folded side sticks out giving it the dimension.

I have a sampler hanging on my design wall that I'm doing that very thing with.....just have to hand finish the inner square......one of these days! :lol:

I'm not sure if this will make sense, but, the 'dimensional' border is folded lengthwise with wrong sides together. Then it is sewn in with the other border so that it lies three dimensionally alongside the other border. Clear as mud?

I have also heard of it called a "peek-a-boo" border. usually it is about an inch or less and folded wrong sides together and then sewn in the seam line.

Hope this helps.

Sheila

Blog Entries
    I have heard this called a flange border

Blog Entries
    I have heard it being called a Flange border. It's super simple to do. Just have to keep it straight in the seam.

Blog Entries